Authentic Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe is pure fabulous! I didn't modify one thing and it is a major hit at parties. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Omg this was so good! I read the reviews and decided to add 1 cup of vitamin D milk JIC it is dry. I probably didnt need to do that but still no regrets. I also used real butter at room temp so maybe that helped? I added fresh jalapenos on one side of the pan, I have kids, and im so pleased with how moist it turned out, sweet and authentic flavors. Its not so sweet like cake but pretty close to it! The jalepenos really do compliment it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe that I always get asked for when I take it anywhere. Not my mothers corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is wonderful. We have to make it dairy-free due to food allergies, so we used 2 small cans of Cream of Coconut in place of the sweetened condensed milk, and Earth Balance in place of the butter, though we have used coconut oil with great results. We do not add the extra sugar, because we feel like it's sweet enough with the coconut cream. We also modify with one can of corn and 2 cans of cream-style corn. Very moist and rich, perfect for serving with soup. Sweet, with a good depth to it. I even ate it for breakfast a few mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I have been craving corn bread with whole corn in it for a while now, so I decided to give this a go. It did not disappoint! I took the suggestion of some other users and went with 2 cans cream corn and 1 can regular, and it turned out super moist and rich. It is a bit eggy, but I really like the almost custardy note of the eggs (I can see how that might be offputting to some, though). This is totally going to be my new go to corn bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liketoeat
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
this was so yummy. but I did not use the sugar and instead of 2 cans whole kernel corn I used 2 cans creamed corn and 1 can kernal corn. very moist. excited to finally have a good cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a delicious cornbread. I added the optional sugar and it was very sweet and tasty, my kids loved it. Due to another reviewer saying that it had been dry, I added a cup of milk to my batch, and it turned out super moist. It took 45 minutes to bake to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I recently made this and it was a HUGE success--I did NOT add the sugar and accidently left the melted butter in the microwave but it was still moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is amazing! I used 1 can of whole corn and 2 cans of cream corn. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar. Very moist. A definate a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made this cornbread following others reviews I used 1 can corn and 2 cans cream style corn, but did make muffins and cooked them for 15-18 minutes, I made some with diced green chilies and some without I used some cupcake liners and some without , but all three batches came out good, it made 36 muffins with me filling the muffin tins with 1/3 cup of batter and it goes great with the slow cooker chicken taco soup on this site...will make these again =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States