Authentic Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I recently made this and it was a HUGE success--I did NOT add the sugar and accidently left the melted butter in the microwave but it was still moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnaj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made this cornbread following others reviews I used 1 can corn and 2 cans cream style corn, but did make muffins and cooked them for 15-18 minutes, I made some with diced green chilies and some without I used some cupcake liners and some without , but all three batches came out good, it made 36 muffins with me filling the muffin tins with 1/3 cup of batter and it goes great with the slow cooker chicken taco soup on this site...will make these again =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is wonderful. We have to make it dairy-free due to food allergies, so we used 2 small cans of Cream of Coconut in place of the sweetened condensed milk, and Earth Balance in place of the butter, though we have used coconut oil with great results. We do not add the extra sugar, because we feel like it's sweet enough with the coconut cream. We also modify with one can of corn and 2 cans of cream-style corn. Very moist and rich, perfect for serving with soup. Sweet, with a good depth to it. I even ate it for breakfast a few mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe that I always get asked for when I take it anywhere. Not my mothers corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a delicious cornbread. I added the optional sugar and it was very sweet and tasty, my kids loved it. Due to another reviewer saying that it had been dry, I added a cup of milk to my batch, and it turned out super moist. It took 45 minutes to bake to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Omg this was so good! I read the reviews and decided to add 1 cup of vitamin D milk JIC it is dry. I probably didnt need to do that but still no regrets. I also used real butter at room temp so maybe that helped? I added fresh jalapenos on one side of the pan, I have kids, and im so pleased with how moist it turned out, sweet and authentic flavors. Its not so sweet like cake but pretty close to it! The jalepenos really do compliment it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is amazing! I used 1 can of whole corn and 2 cans of cream corn. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar. Very moist. A definate a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe is pure fabulous! I didn't modify one thing and it is a major hit at parties. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this but used 2 cans of cream corn and 1 1/2 cups of fresh sweet corn and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefdarci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made as is. The taste is very good but I'm going to be honest and say that the texture was so dense and so dry. Some folks might like it that way but i want it moist as stated. I'm a little bummed out because no one ate this at all. I wonder if the flour/cornmeal measurements is a typo or something. I'm going to play around with this recipe and give an update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States