Authentic Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I was ok with this. I made two batches, one as written. It was alright. It's cornbread. The second batch I added a little more sweetened condensed milk, diced jalapenos, shredded habanero cheese and a slice of unseeded Jalapeno on top. It is much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Great my family loves this Mexican cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adis Roberts
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It's delicious! This is just your average American style corn bread. It has texture, it's moist and delish. Thumbs up for this recipe. Instead of 2 cans of whole kernel, I used 2 cans of creamy style corn and 1 can of the whole Kernel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adis Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I tried the recipe...it was delicious and decadent. However, I recommend a 9x13x2 inch baking dish. A 2 quart baking dish is much too small. The 9x13x2 is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liketoeat
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
this was so yummy. but I did not use the sugar and instead of 2 cans whole kernel corn I used 2 cans creamed corn and 1 can kernal corn. very moist. excited to finally have a good cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I so wanted to love this.. but it is so dense and dry! It also had no flavor. No sweetness (even with the sugar), no buttery flavor, nothing. No salty goodness but that's because I used no salt added corn. Just plain ole' cornmeal taste. I like the real corn pieces throughout and it was easy to make. I'd not use no salt added corn next time and use the 1C milk as some suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
wow, this recipe is decadent! I used two cans of cream corn like others suggested. it turned out rich and fluffy and moist and absolutely delicious. but this is definitely a treat rather than an everyday recipe. notes: use a 3 quart baking dish (I used 9x13) rather than the 2 quart dish the recipe called for. it makes sooooo much. I cut mine into 32 pieces! also, watch the baking time. mine only needed 40 minutes. if I make this again I will definitely try to lighten it up a bit. I'll stick to one can creamed corn and add the milk like others suggested. it doesn't need the optional sugar and 1/4 cup butter would be plenty. might omit an egg or two as well. finally, I'll add the diced green chilis I was planning on adding this time around but forgot. bah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I have been craving corn bread with whole corn in it for a while now, so I decided to give this a go. It did not disappoint! I took the suggestion of some other users and went with 2 cans cream corn and 1 can regular, and it turned out super moist and rich. It is a bit eggy, but I really like the almost custardy note of the eggs (I can see how that might be offputting to some, though). This is totally going to be my new go to corn bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is wonderful. We have to make it dairy-free due to food allergies, so we used 2 small cans of Cream of Coconut in place of the sweetened condensed milk, and Earth Balance in place of the butter, though we have used coconut oil with great results. We do not add the extra sugar, because we feel like it's sweet enough with the coconut cream. We also modify with one can of corn and 2 cans of cream-style corn. Very moist and rich, perfect for serving with soup. Sweet, with a good depth to it. I even ate it for breakfast a few mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe that I always get asked for when I take it anywhere. Not my mothers corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States