Authentic Mexican Chili Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Just finished eating this recipe but i added hamburger and onions to the cheese stuffing was fantastic with a scoop of guacamole and home fried tortilla chips on a bed of lettuce with salsa and sour cream will make it from now on. I would recommend this recipe very highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Baow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
If I could rate this 3.5 stars I would. They were liked but something was missing. I followed the directions for the most part, except that I removed the seeds before charring. I froze the stuffed peppers for about 90 minutes before coating and frying, which kept the cheese inside. Something was missing from the batter tho. It is a good basic recipe with easy to follow directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
grasias por ayudar con la reseta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Esther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These were awesome, easy to make and i loved that the batter stayed on the chili . I tried a different but similar method in the past and it didnt work as easy. Definatley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Excellent! I made a sauce to serve on the side with half canned stewed tomatoes seasoned with Mexican seasonings and half home made enchilada red sauce, complimented this nicely. If no queso, I used half cream cheese mixed with shredded 4-cheese Mexican cheeses but queso is preferred. Also I roasted poblano chilies. Where I live you have to use what's available. So happy to have this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made these with steps my Mom used to do. Take out the seeds before anything else! I used a small knife with curved blade to remove the top underside of the stem that holds the seeds. Once that's gone just shake the few the few loose ones. Do NOT rinse or you will have a wet limp mess! Put them in a large Ziploc bag instead and let them steam for a few minutes. The skin will come off much easier. Instead of dipping the pepper in the egg mixture, carefully lay a small portion of the batter in the oil and they lay the pepper on top. The mixture will spread out when you lay the pepper on it. Then add more to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very tasty! Our family doesn't rinse the chili either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe, used 3 eggs, pinch of salt, removed seeds before broiling. Hatch Green Chillis are fantastic, but you can't find them in Kentucky, so I used Anaheim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
First time trying to make these. I followed the recipe exactly and I was pleasantly surprised that they actually turned out as good as they did. I only read the other reviews today and I think I will skip the rinsing under cold water like one reviewer said and maybe experiment with other peppers and the batter could use some salt. I used the leftover batter to fry some zucchini. It turned out good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pat A
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States