Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe is wonderful!! I added some southwestern hashbrowns and a few more eggs. I picked up some chips and salsa from our local mexican resturant and served it with those. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Spring Lake, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
mmm is soso not as authentic as we (mexicans) do it. i think that this could be better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was quick and everyone liked it. We added fresh avocado slices on top. Of course, if I had more time it would be nice to have made homemade salsa. We used Trader Joe's Salsa Verde instead. We also used Trader Joe's Soy Chorizo sausage since we a vegetarian and gluten-free. The only tricky part was heating enough tortillas in time before the eggs cooled. Next time I may heat them in the pan before cooking the eggs, top with cheese, then keep them warm in the oven on a cookie sheet until we're ready to dish them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Fantastic! Easy to modify as you like, adding mushrooms, etc. But the kids love eggs and I love chorizo, and both of them together is a hit for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOSIERENVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Made these for guests at my home yesterday after a long night of Santarchy. They didn't have any ground chorizo at the store I went to, so I bought sausages and cut them open to get the ground pork out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I have been dating a Mexican for three years and when we go out for breakfast on the weekends, we always get chorizo and eggs. This was just as good as the dish at the restaurant we always visit (or even better if you can get homemade tortillas from a local tienda). While every Mexican I've met does eat store-bought sauce as well as homemade, I'd suggest Cholula hot sauce because I think it tastes richer than Tabasco. I'd also add some diced tomatoes and skip the cheese (Americanized but still tasty, I guess). Try it with some whole or refried black beans and you've got a perfect breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I didn't have chorizo or any sausage on hand, but had left-over taco meat, so I used that. It tasted great and was a great way to use up left-overs. Also sauteed some onions before cooking the eggs, per other reviewers. Very yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I already had some mexi shredded chicken on hand, so I used that instead of chorizo. I can't wait to try that with it. Very tasty! I'm always looking for good, easy breakfasts and this fits the bill! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Just reading this recipe brings back wonderful memories. My great grandmother used to serve us something very similar minus the cheese (she was from Mexico and very emphatically anti-cheese) with added diced, fried potatoes and served with re-heated pinto beans and homemade tortillas. I can't even begin to describe the taste. She mixed the chorizo, eggs and potatoes together, piled into the tortilla and we had the beans on the side. A more perfect combination has yet to be thought of. Try this recipe, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
we had these tacos for dinner tonight and my husband and i both thought they were excellent. I added sauteed onion, red pepper and mushrooms. I used the flour tortilas and although i thought they were fantastic i will try the corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States