Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kristina123
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this without meat, and it was really good!!! I used canned beans. And I put the rice in with the bean mix for like the last 15 minutes of cooking and that's what I'll do next time. Also next time I'll add more peppers, like 4-5 cups water and maybe I'll blend up a can of beans to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I pulled this recipe up to compare it to my Louisiana red bean & rice recipe and it is almost identical. I also use chicken stock instead of water and I add one small can of tomato sauce, 8oz, to add a little vegetable stock flavor. It won't give it a tomato flavor. I often place all ingredients in a crock pot in the morning, eight or more hours total time, and serve for supper over rice. Bon App'etit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francis Polizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was very delicious. I got nervous as I was cooking it because I used 2 cans of red kidney beans instead of the dry beans. I had read another review that said she cut the cook time in half since she used can beans. So I browned the sausage. Then cooked the veggies in the grease left over from the sausage. Poured the veggies in one container of chicken broth, it ended up being about 4 ounces I believe. Let it simmer for about 30 minutes then added the sausage in with the beans/spices/veggies/broth that had been simmering for 30 mins. Still when I was done it was too soupy. I read other reviews where people added the rice in the pot. That thickened it up just right. I was worried for nothing because it turned out amazing since I added the rice with the mixture. I also added more Tonys seasoning and extra cayenne pepper since we love spicy. Used 3 bay leaves, oregano, parsley. I kinda just threw ot in as I thought necessary. Thanks for great recipe. Oh and I added one can of tomatoes/chiles when I added the sausage to the mix. So overall I had celery, bell pepper, tomatoes/chiles, garlic, onion, beans, and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LearningToCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The favors are spot on yummy, but I used cheater (canned) beans, reduced cooking time to a little over an hour. Everything else was the same and yummy. Might cut back a smidge on the cayenne as it will be even hotter tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I'm a Yankee so I'll let the Southerners argue about authenticity. I will say this is a great, tasty, easy dish. Just remember to soak the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Delicious and simple. Made it with one minor alteration- but that was because I had the heat on the beans too high and almost burned them! (I had to add a cup of chicken broth after two hours to get it saucy again) Great flavor! My husband LOVED it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I use bouillon cubes or stock instead of just water & only add salt & creaole seasoning to taste. I also added a few slices of bacon & some smoked meat. This great with cornbread (hot water or jiffy) .. *I'm from louisiana & I approve this recipe* :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is SOOO delicious! I have to have it on a regular basis! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I just made this tonight for dinner and it was amazing! I didn't have any sausage so I kept it meat free and I also added a can of diced tomatoes. Everyone, including my 4year old and 7 year old had seconds. I served with corn bread and tea, as someone suggested. Very filling and inexpensive. I used what I had on hand! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
very very good!! My husband is from Louisianna and is very picky about his red beans and rice and he loved this. I didn't have any celery on hand so substituted celery flakes. Next time I'll try real celery and see if it turns out even better!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States