Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We love this recipe! I dont always have time to soak the beans and do all that so I use 3-4 cans of dark kidney beans with the juice into the veggie mix. It turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I disagree that andouille is absolutely essential to an authentic red beans & rice. By definition, Cajun and Creole cuisine is "peasant food" that makes use of what is on hand by people who lived off the land (e g. Cajun) and/or cooked with secondary protein sources rejected by the rich (basically, the scraps - e.g. Creole). I think what you purists are referring to as "authentic" is in fact "traditional". In New Orleans even, andouille isn't the only protein that can be used in an authentic red beans recipe. You could use andouille, or tasso, or boudin. In the bayou (e.g. Donaldsonville, etc.) and on the plantation (West Feliciana Parish, etc.) you would also see smoked turkey necks, smoked ham hocks, pig feet, pork belly, alligator meat, etc. In fact, some of the oldest and most authentic recipes I've found for this dish contain only salt pork or pickled pork. I've even found fully vegetarian recipes that are older than the invention of andouille. Let's not forget, this dish is all about stretching a small amount of protein into a full meal in the autumn months when meat is scarce and what meat they had was being hoarded/preserved for winter. All that being said, I absolutely love andouille. I just find it ludicrous to get all snooty and stuck up about what started off as the furthest thing in the world from pretentious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was delicious and the whole family loved it! I changed it up a little bit because I cooked it in the slow cooker. I threw in a ham hock. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a good place to start. I had to add more seasoning, the recipe amounts make it bland. I season to taste so I don't have amounts. I added more Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. I also cooked the seasoning and herbs with the veggies before adding them to the beans. I had an Italian herb and cheese sausage on hand, so I used that. It was good, but does not compare to the classic andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great recipe I've prepared this for my family often and each time they've love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
We love it, I've made it 3 times & I'm a winner & so is this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So good. I have cooked it several times. I have used canned, drained, black beans when I don't have any dry beans in pantry or for last minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JKK463
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
History says that Louisiana Red Beans & rice was made on Mondays; laundry day. So for the simplicity of doing so, I don't sauté the vegetables. Monday mornings everything into a pot bring it to a boil & simmer until family is home then cook the rice & corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Loved the recipe. My 1st attempt at making them and they were good. I used the sausage inn the recipe but I think smoked sausages would be fine also. I wouldn't darn toss out a good ham hock and I don't know why it says to do so either. I didn't. Overall, simple and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States