Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was awesome! Will be making it again. Excellent as is. No changes required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Awesome recipe - though I used garlic and deer sausage instead of the andouille so also added a little bit more cayenne pepper. Smash up the beans a bit while cooking to make the sauce a bit thicker but then you might need a bit more water - just depends how you like the consistency of the beans. Also had some ham bits left over and threw those in as well as cut way down on the amount of oil to sauté the vegetables and did use more celery. Served over basmati rice - sometimes the type of rice used can make a difference and I feel this is one of them. Everyone had seconds - a couple of the guys thirds so I'd say this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
This dish was a hit. I used frozen kidney beans and omitted thyme, only because I didn't have any. I also turned the spice factor down a notch because I wanted to serve it to my toddlers. Even without the thyme and full fire, my husband and I thought it was a hit. Now I must admit that I thought the base recipe was in need of salt so I added a little tub of that concentrated chicken stock and it complimented the dish perfectly. This dish is a winner! I will certainly make this again, with the modifications I made. I whipped up some corn bread, fried chicken and rice. I can hardly wait to eat it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This recipe is great but if you are pressed on time use 1 can 16 oz kidney beans. Boiled with 2 cups of water instead of 6 cups. turned out delicious! Served it with French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bell Gardens, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
A lot of work and bad reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Creech Weikel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this for our groups monthly senior citizen luncheon. Most are from the South, and although we (the volunteers who provide this monthly luncheon) are not, at the end one elderly fellow said I had "earned a place in Heaven," because of this dish. I want some right now! Love Southern food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This was great! I did everything as written, only I added 2 bouillon cubes to the water. I also had no Cajun seasoning so I had to use creole seasoning, and it was still fantastic. I also crushed some of the beans with a spoon as suggested by other reviewers to make a thicker gravy, and then added some salt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I adapted this recipe to the pressure cooker, and everyone that has tasted it loves it. Me included. I spent my summers in east Texas when I was young and red beans and rice was a staple at grandmas' house. This is just like I remember it. I live in the northwest now and I don't have any trouble finding Andouilli sausage around here, so that's what I use. I prepare it according to this recipe but I only have to cook it 20 mins in the pressure cooker. I release the steam quickly and add the sausage and bring it back to pressure for another 10 min. I then remove it from the cooker and cook the rice in the pressure cooker too. When the rice is done, instead of serving over the rice, I mix the rice right into the red beans. It couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States