Authentic Lebanese Fattoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I continue to be amazed by how great the recipes are on this site. This salad is so good. I fried the pita bread and put it in the salad (so much better this way). The idea came from a resturant here in Ann Arbor. The dressing is awesome. I will use this dressing in more salads. You can also add feta if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe along with the Lebaneese Chicken & Potatoes, also from this site. If you have access to garlic pita chips sold like potato chips, use that instead and this becomes a quick dinner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I am finding that I just LOVE Lebanese, Armenian, and Greek recipes - this one sounds wonderful. I intend to try it tomorrow - just hope I can find the sumac and the purslane (sp?) here in Massachusetts. I wonder if there is a substitute for either one, if not - or where to find the two. I can almost taste the salad as I write - we had yummy tabbouleh tonight from this site - used a combination of suggestions plus my memories of the first tabbouleh I ever ate. This salad sounds rather like a "green" form of tabbouleh, with many of the same flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
thought the recipe was pretty good i make fattoush all the time the only difference is i dont use constarch in the dressing and i add red onion and raddishes for more flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a very good, healthy recipe. I made it twice. The first time exactly as directed (except I used all Romaine and no purslane or arugula.) The second time, I made the dressing with 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil and doubled the sumac. I liked it better the second time. This entire recipe was devoured in one sitting by two people. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was not the fattoush flavor that I was looking for, but still pretty good. I used bottled lemon juice instead of fresh, and I think that was the problem. I'll definately make this again using fresh juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Fattoush does not require: cornstarch, arugula, parsley. I love fattoush, it's one of the most zesty, delicious and easy to make salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love Fattoush, I grew up with it as a kid. One suggestion I have is to toast the pita bread in an oven/toaster oven until crispy, break it into bite size pieces and mix it into the salad. It is a healthier option than frying the pita as another user mentioned, and adds a nice crunch to the fattoush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnyblaze1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
wow - this is exactly like the fattoush at my favorite lebanese restaurant in detroit. now living in new mexico, i had bit of a time tracking down the sumac. i made it without and then the next day, at a flea market, i discovered a spice stall run by an egyptian man who was selling sumac. how fortuitous! the next day i made again WITH the sumac - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
i really love this salad. i've been looking for its recipe ever since i left lebanon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States