Authentic Lebanese Fattoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Not one of the better Fattoush salad's I've eaten. Sumac makes this dressing a bit sour so next time I will try adding zaatar. I'm not sure what purslane would add to this salad, I can't find it in any of my grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Healthy and oh so scrumptious. I made my own fattoush using this recipe and two others. I used the basic salad dressing here and added extra sumac, a bit of za'atar, and a drop of evoo. For the salad I used arugula, tomatoes, cukes, red onion, mint, parsley, and toasted stale wheat pitas (375 in the oven for 5-7 min on each side). Big hit, definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have been searching for this dressing recipe!!! This is just like one that I used to have when I lived in Dearborn, MI. Thank you, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I was skeptical, but this dressing is my new favorite! The four-star rating is only because I found it much better with 2 TB. olive oil, which is still MUCH less than traditional recipes. (Salt- I used 1 tsp, and sumac I increased by 1/2 tsp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This salad is a staple for the Lebanese, right under tabouleh. However, the mountain people never make a dressing with cornstarch or heating. So, according to my mother-in-law (a little of this and a bit more of that) you add the sumac to the onions that you have chopped in the bowl. The sumac is mixed into the onions and it is used liberally. All vegetables are chopped into the bowl. Then mixed together with salt, black pepper, lemon juice and olive oil. At the very end you mix in the toasted pita bread (make sure you pull the pita apart so you have two rounds before you toast). Then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
excellent - almost as good as the local lebanesse pita shop! now if only there was a way to keep this stuff in the fridge and it not go soggy in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe, while good, fell short of my expectations based on the description and review(s). The dressing did not have the 'zip' found in restaurant salads. It is a nice recipe; but if you're looking for the "greatest fattoush salad in the world", you may wish to try a different version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XTAPOLAPOCET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Loed this salad - I used sumac, olive oil, garlic and lemon juice for the dressing - worked well. also I fried the pita bread lightly in garlic olive oil - very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
We love this, but I'm sure it will be even better once we track down some sumac and purslane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I left out the purslane and arugula - but it didn't matter. The dressing in this recipe is the real star of the show - ad it doesn't have oil! This is going to become a regular weeknight salad for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States