Authentic Korean Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I ran into a few problems that required me to improvise though. 1. I couldn't find pear juice at the store. So I pureed two fresh pears. 2. Instead of using a white cooking wine, I decided to go with Moscato, it's a pear based white wine, and figured it would be perfect for diluting my pear puree. (And it worked great)! 3. Due to horrible weather conditions, I couldn't grill it outside, so I cooked it up in a cast iron skillet... and it still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My family loves bulgogi. The recipe I got from a Korean friend doesn't include the wine, pear juice, sugar or mushrooms. Since I don't cook with alcohol just used more pear juice for the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I had to make a couple of adjustments: I didn't have any pear juice, nor did I have the time or inclination to drive around in 110 degree heat to look for any. So I used some slightly diluted frozen apple juice concentrate instead. I also saved the marinade and boiled it in a sauce pan to disinfect and reduce it. I used flap meat instead of sirloin because that's what I had (again, didn't want to leave the house in this heat). I seared the meat in a very hot cast iron skillet, removed it and then sauted the vegetables. This came out fantastic and the reduced marinade made a lovely sauce for some bean thread noodles. We just loved this and when it gets cooler here, I'll try the pear juice (if I can find some) and the outdoor grill. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. Unfortunately, so do my teenage daughters friends......!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola Lynte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
i couldnt find pear juice, so i used apple. It turned out great. My 3 kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good. Even my son's grandmother said it was all right! (She is from Korea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaporet
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substituted the pear juice with pineapple juice and the white wine with Marsala wine (I really did not want to go to the store.) I cooked this in a skillet until done and removed meat. Then, I reduced the marinade in the same skillet to pour over white rice. It was very delicious, and I would make it this way again. However, I will definitely be trying this recipe with the pear juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaporet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent and Easy, I made a few changes also- I used a large can of pears with juice and pureed all the pears. It was a bit thick, but turned out just the way I was hoping it would after cooking the meat ( it crytalized on the meat). I also made it quite sweet ( by around a 1/4 cup more sugar than what the recipe calls for) as the bulgogi I have had before was very sweet and my hubby likes it best that way. I also substituted Braggs liquid aminos for the soy and added a little bit more garlic. Since it is winter and we aren't using the grill, I read about how to grill with your oven on ehow and used this method for the dish. It turned out perfectly "grilled" and was just like the authentic bulgogi I have had. It took around 25 minutes or so to be crystalized and for the marinade to be more like a sauce than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jblhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States