Authentic Korean Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
unbelievable! my plain meat/potato/bread husband went wild over this and he even knew the ingredients. using peanut oil, i stir fried beef skirt but added shredded carrots and raw spinach to the mix. i finished by adding a bit of water, pear juice and soy sauce to the wok and reducing to thicken. the final step was to serve over jasmine rice. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Didn't have the green onions or mushrooms so I used broccoli and carrots (pretty colors), and it tasted just as good. We ate ours with japanese noodles. I would love to try it with the original ingredients and on top of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Overall I thought this was pretty good. The kids ate it anyway :) Next time I am going to cut the sesame oil in half, and maybe increase the sugar, as I couldn't find pear juice and used canned pears instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Taste great.. It's just not the one from my Korean restaurant.. But I really do like it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent and Easy, I made a few changes also- I used a large can of pears with juice and pureed all the pears. It was a bit thick, but turned out just the way I was hoping it would after cooking the meat ( it crytalized on the meat). I also made it quite sweet ( by around a 1/4 cup more sugar than what the recipe calls for) as the bulgogi I have had before was very sweet and my hubby likes it best that way. I also substituted Braggs liquid aminos for the soy and added a little bit more garlic. Since it is winter and we aren't using the grill, I read about how to grill with your oven on ehow and used this method for the dish. It turned out perfectly "grilled" and was just like the authentic bulgogi I have had. It took around 25 minutes or so to be crystalized and for the marinade to be more like a sauce than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jblhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaporet
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substituted the pear juice with pineapple juice and the white wine with Marsala wine (I really did not want to go to the store.) I cooked this in a skillet until done and removed meat. Then, I reduced the marinade in the same skillet to pour over white rice. It was very delicious, and I would make it this way again. However, I will definitely be trying this recipe with the pear juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaporet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good. Even my son's grandmother said it was all right! (She is from Korea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
i couldnt find pear juice, so i used apple. It turned out great. My 3 kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. Unfortunately, so do my teenage daughters friends......!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola Lynte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States