Authentic Korean Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Yum. Pear juice is the secret. I found mine in cans (near the guava and papaya juices) at a Mexican grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Used this recipe a week ago and following the clear recipe directions, it was a great success! My guest were Korean nationals and it "felt like home" was the general comments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
When this recipe showed up in the All Recipes Magazine, my Korean husband asked me to make it. We both scarfed it up. Doesn't taste like my mother-in-law's, but it was pretty close. I think we will try pan frying or baking next time. Something about the grill process just didn't let us get the sear we were looking for. I used shredded Anjou pears instead of pear juice and it worked just fine. Served with rice and kimchi. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Different marinade but the sweetness sticks with the beef and makes it tasty. Grilling everything always is a plus. Very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It's 'ok'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Everyone in household loved it...husband is Korean and he said was great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Good, but I will double the soy sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilene Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have made this twice. First time I didn't have pear juice, second time I finely shredded a very ripe pear. I marinated as directed overnight but at the end it was so-so for me. I needed to add Siracha and some extra soy sauce to make some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My thirteen year old daughter is fascinated with the Korean culture. I thought it was just K-Pop, but no, everything. I decided to make this for her tonight. I didn't read the recipe carefully, so I didn't know about the grilling part. The magazine said that they cooked the meat in batches in a frying pan on the oven, so I did that. My whole family loved it. I served it over white rice. It kind of ended up with it's own gravy cooking it this way and they were spooning it over the rice. It didn't look as pretty as the picture, but it had all the flavor and was very tender. I will definietly make it again, but next time, I want to grilll it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I never had this before, but it sounded really good so decided to give it a try. Glad I did! I had no issue finding the pear juice, it was in the juice isle - Kearns Pear Nectar, it comes in a can. I froze the sirloin for a couple hours to make it easy to slice in thin strips. I marinated it overnight which made the meat really flavorsome. I sautéd the onions and mushrooms, then added the meat after grilling and mixed it together. As another reviewer suggested, I saved the marinade and brought it to a boil in a sauce pan then added rice noodles to serve on the side. I also made the Spicy Korean Red Pepper Cucumbers (also on allrecipes) and the whole meal was just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States