Authentic Korean Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I had to make a couple of adjustments: I didn't have any pear juice, nor did I have the time or inclination to drive around in 110 degree heat to look for any. So I used some slightly diluted frozen apple juice concentrate instead. I also saved the marinade and boiled it in a sauce pan to disinfect and reduce it. I used flap meat instead of sirloin because that's what I had (again, didn't want to leave the house in this heat). I seared the meat in a very hot cast iron skillet, removed it and then sauted the vegetables. This came out fantastic and the reduced marinade made a lovely sauce for some bean thread noodles. We just loved this and when it gets cooler here, I'll try the pear juice (if I can find some) and the outdoor grill. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent and Easy, I made a few changes also- I used a large can of pears with juice and pureed all the pears. It was a bit thick, but turned out just the way I was hoping it would after cooking the meat ( it crytalized on the meat). I also made it quite sweet ( by around a 1/4 cup more sugar than what the recipe calls for) as the bulgogi I have had before was very sweet and my hubby likes it best that way. I also substituted Braggs liquid aminos for the soy and added a little bit more garlic. Since it is winter and we aren't using the grill, I read about how to grill with your oven on ehow and used this method for the dish. It turned out perfectly "grilled" and was just like the authentic bulgogi I have had. It took around 25 minutes or so to be crystalized and for the marinade to be more like a sauce than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jblhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. Unfortunately, so do my teenage daughters friends......!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola Lynte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
i couldnt find pear juice, so i used apple. It turned out great. My 3 kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good. Even my son's grandmother said it was all right! (She is from Korea)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaporet
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substituted the pear juice with pineapple juice and the white wine with Marsala wine (I really did not want to go to the store.) I cooked this in a skillet until done and removed meat. Then, I reduced the marinade in the same skillet to pour over white rice. It was very delicious, and I would make it this way again. However, I will definitely be trying this recipe with the pear juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaporet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Didn't have the green onions or mushrooms so I used broccoli and carrots (pretty colors), and it tasted just as good. We ate ours with japanese noodles. I would love to try it with the original ingredients and on top of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
unbelievable! my plain meat/potato/bread husband went wild over this and he even knew the ingredients. using peanut oil, i stir fried beef skirt but added shredded carrots and raw spinach to the mix. i finished by adding a bit of water, pear juice and soy sauce to the wok and reducing to thicken. the final step was to serve over jasmine rice. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My two sons lived in Korean with their father for two years. The only thing they missed was Bulgogi. So I looked it up and used this recipe. My boys loved it. They said it taisted just like it did in Korea. It wasn't hard and I had to admit it is one of my favorites to make. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great recipe. I used venison instead of beef and marinated it for 24 hrs. Very tender and flavorful. Served over rice with a little red pepper flake. Thank you, will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States