Authentic Korean Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I ran into a few problems that required me to improvise though. 1. I couldn't find pear juice at the store. So I pureed two fresh pears. 2. Instead of using a white cooking wine, I decided to go with Moscato, it's a pear based white wine, and figured it would be perfect for diluting my pear puree. (And it worked great)! 3. Due to horrible weather conditions, I couldn't grill it outside, so I cooked it up in a cast iron skillet... and it still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My family loves bulgogi. The recipe I got from a Korean friend doesn't include the wine, pear juice, sugar or mushrooms. Since I don't cook with alcohol just used more pear juice for the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I had to make a couple of adjustments: I didn't have any pear juice, nor did I have the time or inclination to drive around in 110 degree heat to look for any. So I used some slightly diluted frozen apple juice concentrate instead. I also saved the marinade and boiled it in a sauce pan to disinfect and reduce it. I used flap meat instead of sirloin because that's what I had (again, didn't want to leave the house in this heat). I seared the meat in a very hot cast iron skillet, removed it and then sauted the vegetables. This came out fantastic and the reduced marinade made a lovely sauce for some bean thread noodles. We just loved this and when it gets cooler here, I'll try the pear juice (if I can find some) and the outdoor grill. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Taste great.. It's just not the one from my Korean restaurant.. But I really do like it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent and Easy, I made a few changes also- I used a large can of pears with juice and pureed all the pears. It was a bit thick, but turned out just the way I was hoping it would after cooking the meat ( it crytalized on the meat). I also made it quite sweet ( by around a 1/4 cup more sugar than what the recipe calls for) as the bulgogi I have had before was very sweet and my hubby likes it best that way. I also substituted Braggs liquid aminos for the soy and added a little bit more garlic. Since it is winter and we aren't using the grill, I read about how to grill with your oven on ehow and used this method for the dish. It turned out perfectly "grilled" and was just like the authentic bulgogi I have had. It took around 25 minutes or so to be crystalized and for the marinade to be more like a sauce than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jblhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaporet
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substituted the pear juice with pineapple juice and the white wine with Marsala wine (I really did not want to go to the store.) I cooked this in a skillet until done and removed meat. Then, I reduced the marinade in the same skillet to pour over white rice. It was very delicious, and I would make it this way again. However, I will definitely be trying this recipe with the pear juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaporet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Didn't have the green onions or mushrooms so I used broccoli and carrots (pretty colors), and it tasted just as good. We ate ours with japanese noodles. I would love to try it with the original ingredients and on top of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
i couldnt find pear juice, so i used apple. It turned out great. My 3 kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
unbelievable! my plain meat/potato/bread husband went wild over this and he even knew the ingredients. using peanut oil, i stir fried beef skirt but added shredded carrots and raw spinach to the mix. i finished by adding a bit of water, pear juice and soy sauce to the wok and reducing to thicken. the final step was to serve over jasmine rice. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States