Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Good! I added cumin and cayenne pepper to spice it up. And a little extra olive oil while it was in the food processor as I noticed it needed a little extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Best hummus I have ever tasted let alone made! Excellent as is but for a little variation I add chipotle chili peppers and roasted red peppers... really takes this to the next level. I also increase the amount of garlic as roasting the garlic first really tames the flavour. This has become a staple food item in my home, easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I loved it, but there was too much tahini, I will love it even more the next time when I cut it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe is great! I'd never eaten hummus before, but after getting a new food processor, I wanted to try it. This recipe looked promising since it has roasted garlic instead of raw. I followed directions (almost) exactly, but ended up having to drizzle about 1/4 cup additional olive oil in at the end to make a better consistency. I also used a bit less lemon juice. The final product was delicious - even better after chilling for about 6 hours in the fridge. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimflorida28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
too thick and not garlicky enough :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Easy and delicious. Added roasted red peppers and the oil from that jar, instead of all the olive oil. Fantastic. Very versatile recipe. I'm about to make it again, this time with sun-dried tomatoes. Mmmm!!! Might not roast all the garlic, since I like a lot of kick in my hummus and roasting really mellows the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
The lemon taste was way too stong for my husband and I. I may try this again later and modify the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Definately worth the 5 stars I just gave it! I got such rave reviews from my family on this recipe when I made it for a family gathering! My test was when I brought some in for the egyptian doctor I work for. He said I did a very good job! Thank you for such a fantastic recipe! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I hate to knock this down a star, but I had issues with the consistency. I added olive oil to get it to an acceptable level, but next time I don't think I'll drain the garbanzo beans and maybe add a little more lemon juice. I'll also double the recipe because I want leftovers! Flavor is fantastic! An explosion of cumin. Love it with sweet bell peppers--great contrast with the sweet and salty/cumin of the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Having a Syrian grandfather I was so excited to find this recipe! I'm allergic to sesame/tehinah so I added a tbs of mayo and extra evoo. Also I think I need to reduce the garlic next time (probably too strong b/c no tahinah)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States