Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I tried this twice and the second time followed the directions exactly and it still came out far too dry and thick. I added some hot water and extra olive oil, and it didn't help much. Hummus is supposed to be soft and creamy. The taste is ok, not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
GREAT recipe... as with others a little on the dry side, I've made it SEVERAL times now, and either add more lemon juice, olive oil, or water as some have suggested.. just to get the right consistency. SOOOO good! Also added some roasted red peppers this last time.......... LOVE IT! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My family is Egyptian and I have tried a lot of hummas. This is one of the best I have ever tried. So easy and delicious. Great Recipe. I left out roasting the garlic, just to save time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This truly did taste like authentic hummus to me. Using roasted garlic is the best way to make it and I loved it and will be serving it at my Halloween party this year. I will be making it from now on too, so good and even my husband likes it and he is even pickier than I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
As is this was only okay. WAY too much tahini! I scaled back the tahini to a couple tablespoons, and only used 2-3 roasted garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFun-GlutenFree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've made a bunch of hummus recipes from this site, but this one is absolutely delish! It tastes like my hummus has been left to flavour in a smoke house! I love garlic, but when I make hummus and add extra garlic it always burns (and I smell for days!). What a great way to make garlicky hummus without all of that raw garlic. I don't know why this method never crossed my mind. Anyways as for the lemon and tahini, I never measure it out, I just taste as I go along. Perfect and I will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My dad said "it tasted like the real thing", lol. It came out great!! I followed the recipe exactly as the author wrote it, then slowly added some of the reserved liquid from the can to thin it out some. I also rinsed the beans very well before blending them- something I recently learned from weight watchers, helps you add less salt. I removed 2/3 of the hummus, and then added some fresh mint per the author's suggestion- and it was really good! Went great with sliced up cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I love Hummus, but raw garlic doesn't agree with me. This recipe is awesome. I make it exactly as written with the exception of not draining the beans. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this is the first time i've made hummus and it is good! this recipe is so creeeeamy and such a nice texture. it would be 5 stars but it was so thick as written my blender wouldn't blend it (i have a Magic Bullet); my tahini was liquidy and mixed, all as written. i added olive oil and some water to get it to blend. can't wait to have the rest tomorrow after flavors have blended. i'd add more garlic and cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States