Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This Hummus recipe is the best I've tried.. I don't have time to roast garlic so I just shred it into a pan with a little oil and brown it on the stove top.. gives the same affect.. also we like it with a little smoked paprika and a little cayenne..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I make this once a week for my daughter who said this is the best hummus she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I like the concept of roasting your own garlic, but it didn't change the taste that much. I also didn't feel that this was kicked-up, so maybe would triple the spices, as I'd already about doubled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is THE perfect hummus recipe! It lends itself to tweaking for personal taste, so I suggest starting with a bit less of the tahini and lemon juice than called for, and add from there to your taste preference. Personally, I don't like too much tahini in my hummus, so I cut back by several tablespoons. I peeled about half of the chick peas, but this isn't too important. The cumin makes the flavor, IMO. Don't skip it! CAUTION: There is no need to add extra calories by adding oil to thin out this dip! Just reserve some of the chick pea juice from the can and add it in to thin the dip. or use plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
was very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Really good but too much salt for my taste. Next time I'll use half the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
i've made so many different hummus recipes, and this is definitely one of, if not the, best. it turned out beautifully creamy, not remotely too thick. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was very, very good! Next time, I'll use a little bit more of the juices from the garbanzo beans. I like my hummus a little thinner, it's easier to spread and to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Seriously -- the BEST hummus recipe I have ever tried. Better than any I have tasted at restaurants, too. I did add extra olive oil. Can't recommend this highly enough. My husband and kids agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome, my new fav hummus recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States