Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This was absolutely fantastic! I got so excited when I first tasted it, I ran outside and gave my husband a sample. He said, "that's real hummus" (he is Greek, and has eaten a lot of Mediterranean food). I disagree with some of the other reviews in terms of the thick consistency. I thought it was perfect, thick and smooth. It was much like hummus I had at a wonderful Mediterranean restaurant years ago, and haven't had anything nearly as good since. Perfect! Well done, Mary! Your Syrian grandma was right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Beth Gerhard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Amazing!Made this so many times I have the recipe memorized. Friends love it! thanks so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
YuM! Spectacular. Love the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I love hummus and this is a great recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe and it tasted lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wow. This is crazy good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Best hummus ever. I added more oil while processing to make extra smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This Hummus recipe is the best I've tried.. I don't have time to roast garlic so I just shred it into a pan with a little oil and brown it on the stove top.. gives the same affect.. also we like it with a little smoked paprika and a little cayenne..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I make this once a week for my daughter who said this is the best hummus she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I like the concept of roasting your own garlic, but it didn't change the taste that much. I also didn't feel that this was kicked-up, so maybe would triple the spices, as I'd already about doubled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is THE perfect hummus recipe! It lends itself to tweaking for personal taste, so I suggest starting with a bit less of the tahini and lemon juice than called for, and add from there to your taste preference. Personally, I don't like too much tahini in my hummus, so I cut back by several tablespoons. I peeled about half of the chick peas, but this isn't too important. The cumin makes the flavor, IMO. Don't skip it! CAUTION: There is no need to add extra calories by adding oil to thin out this dip! Just reserve some of the chick pea juice from the can and add it in to thin the dip. or use plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States