Authentic Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Good recipe. I like the caraway seeds and not tomato products. All the red is paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rb Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I find it needs some lifting so I used a 1/4 tsp of chillie powder and it made the world of a diference. Brian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
well, it isn't goulash, closer to paprikash,leaving the potatoes out, add green and red peppers,stewed tomatoes instead of water, 2 bay leaves while simmering, serve over poppyseed noodles(homemade)with lots of sour cream added right before you pour over noodles. you can use any meat, including venison. use a real hungarian paprika liberally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was pretty darn good. I normally don't add potatoes.. but it was good with them. However, I did make some buttered noodles to soak up the delicious sauce.. This is close to the recipe given to me years ago. I also swapped the Hot hungarian paprika for half of the regular. Gave it a nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I suppose this is an aquired taste. I like most any food but did not care for this. It reminded me of Texas chili without the kick of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
As good or better then any I ever ate in Germany. Better then that made using Knor Goulash Mix, which is quit good. Did thiken a bit with soy flour and Wonder flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Tried it and it is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
It was okay. I have had better and the addition of a pepper would have added that something, something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A keeper recipe that’s easy to make but not one I would make often. Just not my taste I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was good. I guess I wasn't expecting a stew. I tried subbing a cup of beef stock for one of the cups of water and I think I caused it to taste more like pot roast than paprika. And I used Spanish smoked paprika so it's a shame that the beef taste overpowered it. This is a good winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States