Authentic Hungarian Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I find it needs some lifting so I used a 1/4 tsp of chillie powder and it made the world of a diference. Brian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
well, it isn't goulash, closer to paprikash,leaving the potatoes out, add green and red peppers,stewed tomatoes instead of water, 2 bay leaves while simmering, serve over poppyseed noodles(homemade)with lots of sour cream added right before you pour over noodles. you can use any meat, including venison. use a real hungarian paprika liberally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was pretty darn good. I normally don't add potatoes.. but it was good with them. However, I did make some buttered noodles to soak up the delicious sauce.. This is close to the recipe given to me years ago. I also swapped the Hot hungarian paprika for half of the regular. Gave it a nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I suppose this is an aquired taste. I like most any food but did not care for this. It reminded me of Texas chili without the kick of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
As good or better then any I ever ate in Germany. Better then that made using Knor Goulash Mix, which is quit good. Did thiken a bit with soy flour and Wonder flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Tried it and it is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
It was okay. I have had better and the addition of a pepper would have added that something, something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A keeper recipe that’s easy to make but not one I would make often. Just not my taste I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was good. I guess I wasn't expecting a stew. I tried subbing a cup of beef stock for one of the cups of water and I think I caused it to taste more like pot roast than paprika. And I used Spanish smoked paprika so it's a shame that the beef taste overpowered it. This is a good winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Love this recipe!! I add sour cream at the end and usually put everything in the crock pot. We serve it with bread dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States