Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I make this at home often. It's very good. Different flavor salsas are fun to experiment with too. (and I also use fat free re-fried beans... they taste great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It does take a bit of time to prepare (making the bacon, etc.) but it is delicious. We used it for dinner instead of breakfast/brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Yum! Easy, easy, & fast. Microwaved beans while cooking the tortillas. Added some diced jalapenos over the beans before putting the egg on. We've had them for supper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Tasty meal. Big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
This was a great recipe, and a great vegetarian recipe if you leave out the bacon. I simmered the beans on the stovetop with some chopped jalapenos, green salsa and spices while I cooked the tortillas, maybe that could help the people who have said theirs gets cold too fast. Mas juevos! Tu vaca es grande!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was my first time making huevos rancheros and not only was it easy, it was really good! The only time I've had it better was in Mexico. I used Canadian bacon instead of regular bacon and put it over the beans, and I used everyone's suggestion and broiled it to heat it up and melt the cheese. I also added a little sour cream on top. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
8/20 I made this for Husband's brunch and wanted it to be a bit more substantial, so I doubled the eggs and bacon, sprinkled with lots of extra-sharp Cheddar and Mexican cheeses, topped with jarred sliced jalapenos, and served it with salsa and black beans. This was quick and easy, and very filling. Thanks, giamom! 8/25 Made these again today but spread the refried beans over flour tortillas, added scrambled egg, bacon and salsa, and rolled them up. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i love the mexican and me AND my wife loved it. oh yeah. good stuff. i love to put eggs on anything and this was a nice change from the huevos rancheros that i normally make. supurb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
IMHO this is a very quick and satisfying meal. I could not eat this every week due to the caloric content. But as we all know, moderation is key. This is a nice comfort food recipe. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have eaten Huevos Rancheros in several parts of Mexico, Arizona, Texas and even in the Midwest. I don't know what "Authentic" means because cooks do things differently. I am going to try this because it sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States