Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I don't know whether this is authentic or not; all I do know is that this breakfast was really good! I added green onion, a little enchilada sauce and some shredded pepper jack cheese. Great Giamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Just wanted to put this bit of info out there for everyone, anything with Cheddar cheese is not authentically Mexican. If you want to reduce the fat in this dish you can just put a little bit of butter in a pan, then slightly toast the tortillas in the pan. It comes out just as good with less fat. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It does take a bit of time to prepare (making the bacon, etc.) but it is delicious. We used it for dinner instead of breakfast/brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Yum! Easy, easy, & fast. Microwaved beans while cooking the tortillas. Added some diced jalapenos over the beans before putting the egg on. We've had them for supper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
Very good - nice change from just bacon and eggs. I fried the tortillas and the eggs in the bacon grease. First time I made them the food wasn't hot. So the next time after I assembled them (putting the cheese on the top which it doesn't tell you in the recipe) I microwaved each one for 30 seconds or until the beans bubble and the cheese melts. Then top with salsa if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I was a little leary of making these since the ones I've had in the past have many times been boring but I had some tostada shells I wanted to use up. But these were pretty good. They weren't dry like some are. I've never had them with bacon and that was a really good change. Like Bogey I too microwaved them once assembled because everything does get cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Tasty meal. Big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Terrific brunch dish. I had never put beans on the tortillas - this is a nice addition. I make a batch and put them on a cookie sheet, topped with some green chilie salsa and lots of cheese and run them under the broiler until the cheese is melted and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
This was a great recipe, and a great vegetarian recipe if you leave out the bacon. I simmered the beans on the stovetop with some chopped jalapenos, green salsa and spices while I cooked the tortillas, maybe that could help the people who have said theirs gets cold too fast. Mas juevos! Tu vaca es grande!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
These were delicious. The only change I made was no bacon since I'm a vegetarian, instead I put sliced avacodo on top and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States