Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
IMHO this is a very quick and satisfying meal. I could not eat this every week due to the caloric content. But as we all know, moderation is key. This is a nice comfort food recipe. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Good, but not great. To make it much more authentic, fry the bacon and then use the bacon grease for the beans. Personally I prefer to cook/boil dry pinto beans then mash them up while frying them in bacon grease, just like they do in Mexico. If you don't want to prepare your own beans, then use canned pinto beans instead. Anytime I make beans for friends, they all rave about the taste. Try it and see if it doesn't improve the flavor. I also prefer a green salsa verde (tomatillo sauce) and jalisco queso instead of the red salsa and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Staunton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I make this at home often. It's very good. Different flavor salsas are fun to experiment with too. (and I also use fat free re-fried beans... they taste great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
As others have said, these are not authentic by any means, but who cares, since my husband loved them! He even made more the next morning with the leftover ingredients and surprised me with breakfast in bed! I added diced tomato, lime juice and cilantro to the refried beans and heated it on the stove. Also, you can just use cooking spray to "fry" the tortillas, and it's just as good, but less fattening. Very delicious. EDIT: These have become a regular at our house, and my husband goes out of his way to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
im not sure if this is a AUTHENTIC recipe, but it is very good. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONIX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
this was very good. I just mixed my bottled hot peppers with plain refried beans. I didn't add butter to the beans and I cooked the eggs over med. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i love the mexican and me AND my wife loved it. oh yeah. good stuff. i love to put eggs on anything and this was a nice change from the huevos rancheros that i normally make. supurb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
8/20 I made this for Husband's brunch and wanted it to be a bit more substantial, so I doubled the eggs and bacon, sprinkled with lots of extra-sharp Cheddar and Mexican cheeses, topped with jarred sliced jalapenos, and served it with salsa and black beans. This was quick and easy, and very filling. Thanks, giamom! 8/25 Made these again today but spread the refried beans over flour tortillas, added scrambled egg, bacon and salsa, and rolled them up. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Did you know that fat free refried beans exist? I didn't until I made this recipe. Surprisingly, it still tasted really good! I'll be making this for breakfast again next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States