Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Who cares if it is called authentic or not. It was delicious. I warmed tortillas instead of frying. Also layered 2 tortillas with beans because we are big tortilla fans. Put it all together and nuked it for 30 seconds to warm and melt cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Fimbres Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I am mexican and these are not at authentic at all, however they are nice. But salsa is never optional, is the main ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I don't know how "authentic" these are, but they were a hit with my family. I had all the ingredients and they were pretty simple to make. I didn't have refried beans w/green chiles, so I just added them into the beans before warming them. For my 6-yr old, I made him seperate beans w/out the chiles. My tortillas were VERY chewy...I don't know if I fried them too long, or not long enough, or if they were old. I also added SW seasoning and green onions on the top. I broiled them after they were assembled to melt the cheese, which I put on the top. (it doesn't say what to do with the cheese). Next time, I think I'll try them with flour tortillas, per my son's request, and maybe just use spray oil and/or butter like other reviewers have suggested. Jalapenos would be good too! These were pretty good. I will make them again...something different for dinner! :)) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I added a corn tortilla on top. Everything else was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have eaten Huevos Rancheros in several parts of Mexico, Arizona, Texas and even in the Midwest. I don't know what "Authentic" means because cooks do things differently. I am going to try this because it sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
. This is nothing like the ones you get in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
you get 3 stars for originality,but this is definitely NOT authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Like other people have said, Authentic? not even close. dont mean to be mean, but the only authentic thing about that recipe was the tortillas and eggs.it sure looks good, but it has too much going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Authentic?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States