Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were good for Americanized Huevos Rancheros, but nothing like authentic. One thing they need is a good ranchera sauce (not salsa), but the recipe I tried from here was not very good so I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Good, filling, and comforting in the way only breakfast-type food can be. I took other reviewers' advice and heated everything under the broiler to re-warm and melt the cheese. Listen to the amount of refried beans and cheese. I once eyeballed what looked like the right amount on each tortilla to me and it was a bit too much beans and not enough cheese. But when I followed the quantifies listed in the recipe, everything balanced well. I was indifferent about adding the salsa or not. Incidentally, I skipped adding butter to the beans, and skipped the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
We liked this recipe, it was something a bit different. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and after assembling, I put them under the broiler for a few minutes. My husband wasn't crazy about the fried egg and requested that I use scrambled egg next time. I made this for dinner but will make it again for weekend breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was my first time making huevos rancheros and not only was it easy, it was really good! The only time I've had it better was in Mexico. I used Canadian bacon instead of regular bacon and put it over the beans, and I used everyone's suggestion and broiled it to heat it up and melt the cheese. I also added a little sour cream on top. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
These were delicious. The only change I made was no bacon since I'm a vegetarian, instead I put sliced avacodo on top and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
This was a great recipe, and a great vegetarian recipe if you leave out the bacon. I simmered the beans on the stovetop with some chopped jalapenos, green salsa and spices while I cooked the tortillas, maybe that could help the people who have said theirs gets cold too fast. Mas juevos! Tu vaca es grande!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Terrific brunch dish. I had never put beans on the tortillas - this is a nice addition. I make a batch and put them on a cookie sheet, topped with some green chilie salsa and lots of cheese and run them under the broiler until the cheese is melted and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Tasty meal. Big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I was a little leary of making these since the ones I've had in the past have many times been boring but I had some tostada shells I wanted to use up. But these were pretty good. They weren't dry like some are. I've never had them with bacon and that was a really good change. Like Bogey I too microwaved them once assembled because everything does get cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
Very good - nice change from just bacon and eggs. I fried the tortillas and the eggs in the bacon grease. First time I made them the food wasn't hot. So the next time after I assembled them (putting the cheese on the top which it doesn't tell you in the recipe) I microwaved each one for 30 seconds or until the beans bubble and the cheese melts. Then top with salsa if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States