Authentic Green Goddess Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I shrunk the recipe down for 3 servings substitued 1/2 lemon and 1/2 lime juice out of necessity and it is DELICIOUS! I haven't told my better half their is anchovy paste in in b/c he would freak. But he loves it and has asked for more! GREEAATT Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was an excellent dressing; my guests loved it. It definitely benefits from 2 hours in the refrigerator prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
delicious. Because I am using Dutch mayonaise, I found it a bit thick, so I recommend less mayo and more creme fraiche. I also used anchovy oil (oil from a jar of anchovies) and used mint and basil for the herns as that was all I had - beautiful! I am going to serve it with dutch potatoes as a healthy alternative to them drowning it in mayo:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Creme Fraiche is basically 1 tbsp of buttermilk to 1 cup of heavy cream heated, and refrigerated for 24 hours before using. It will last for several weeks in the fridge. This recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very good dip, it tasted good with chicken, shrimp and my turkey sandwich. I didn't have creme fraiche so I used reduced fat sour cream, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Just wanted you to know I really enjoy this recipe and to thank you for it. As a child of the 70's, now a 40-something year old watching sodium and avoiding MSG, I try to avoid bottled, store bought dressings. I loved the 7 Seas Green Goddess when I was a child, this is such an improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Excellent dressing packed with lots of fresh, herb flavor. I used it as a dressing for a pasta salad made with small pasta shells, tiny teardrop tomatoes, chopped yellow pepper and shrimp. People raved about the unique taste, not too mention what a beautiful color combination the dressing, tomatoes, and peppers made. Thanks for sharing -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This dressing is my new favorite....wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I could not find the creme fraiche so I used yogurt to keep the fat down. The recipe was easy to make and a hit with the family. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I wish I would have scaled this down to a smaller yield because I know this will not get eaten. First, the description indicates the anchovy paste isn't noticeable. Trust me, a tablespoon of anchovy paste in a cup of dressing is noticeable! In my opinion a teaspoon, maximum, would be better. Second, with only green onion, parsley and chives, the dressing lacks the complexity and depth that the addition of other herbs would provide - adding dill and basil would really round the herb flavor out. Third, between the lemon juice, parsley and anchovy paste there is a hint of bitterness that a touch of honey or sugar would rectify. Finally, creme fraiche is a several hour process to make and purchasing it is not only expensive but it's not always readily available. I don't think using creme fraiche necessarily makes this dressing any better than just substituting sour cream or sour cream and a little buttermilk. Overall, the anchovy taste SHOULD not be noticeable and I missed the creamy herbiness a good Green Goddess Dressing should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States