Authentic Green Goddess Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Creme Fraiche is basically 1 tbsp of buttermilk to 1 cup of heavy cream heated, and refrigerated for 24 hours before using. It will last for several weeks in the fridge. This recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I wish I would have scaled this down to a smaller yield because I know this will not get eaten. First, the description indicates the anchovy paste isn't noticeable. Trust me, a tablespoon of anchovy paste in a cup of dressing is noticeable! In my opinion a teaspoon, maximum, would be better. Second, with only green onion, parsley and chives, the dressing lacks the complexity and depth that the addition of other herbs would provide - adding dill and basil would really round the herb flavor out. Third, between the lemon juice, parsley and anchovy paste there is a hint of bitterness that a touch of honey or sugar would rectify. Finally, creme fraiche is a several hour process to make and purchasing it is not only expensive but it's not always readily available. I don't think using creme fraiche necessarily makes this dressing any better than just substituting sour cream or sour cream and a little buttermilk. Overall, the anchovy taste SHOULD not be noticeable and I missed the creamy herbiness a good Green Goddess Dressing should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I shrunk the recipe down for 3 servings substitued 1/2 lemon and 1/2 lime juice out of necessity and it is DELICIOUS! I haven't told my better half their is anchovy paste in in b/c he would freak. But he loves it and has asked for more! GREEAATT Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Just wanted you to know I really enjoy this recipe and to thank you for it. As a child of the 70's, now a 40-something year old watching sodium and avoiding MSG, I try to avoid bottled, store bought dressings. I loved the 7 Seas Green Goddess when I was a child, this is such an improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Excellent dressing packed with lots of fresh, herb flavor. I used it as a dressing for a pasta salad made with small pasta shells, tiny teardrop tomatoes, chopped yellow pepper and shrimp. People raved about the unique taste, not too mention what a beautiful color combination the dressing, tomatoes, and peppers made. Thanks for sharing -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was an excellent dressing; my guests loved it. It definitely benefits from 2 hours in the refrigerator prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I could not find the creme fraiche so I used yogurt to keep the fat down. The recipe was easy to make and a hit with the family. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
taste is ok but this is definitely not authentic "green goddess". The origin of this dressing was to make a real mayonnaise homemade in the blender as that's what chefs did back in the day it was created. the tarragon was the center point plus chive or scallion, garlic and anchovy with parsley. when you whirl that around in the egg until it's well blended, yes, that's the "green" part. Then emulsify oil into it. Then balance out the finished mayonnaise with creme fraiche. I didn't see garlic in this recipe or the tarragon. Thus, it's not an authentic adaptation of what the original creator intended. The original version of this was meant to be served with constructed crab seafood salad, much as remoulade or something similar is still used in New Orleans cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This dressing is my new favorite....wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very good dip, it tasted good with chicken, shrimp and my turkey sandwich. I didn't have creme fraiche so I used reduced fat sour cream, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States