Authentic Green Goddess Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
used this recipe last summer. sans the anchovies. don't do anything with fish in it, and yes I can taste it! This is sooooo good on Taco Salad, still have to have lots of yummy spicy fresh salsa on, but there is such a great melding of flavors, and creamy. Had it with both chicken, and hamburger taco salads. Really is a must try, and especially here in AZ. It is salad weather. appreciated 2006 review with creme fraiche recipe, I can get it at local store, but not at a price I can handle. Must have chopped avocado on salad, green goddess to me always has to have avocado in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Excellent, fresh, flavourful and fantastic. Don't change a thing! (Although you can sub in a dash of fish sauce if you don't have the anchovies on hand!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doitmyselfmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
After falling in love with Green Goddess dressing at a local restaurant, I decided to find a recipe for it. The restaurant's version was very green and bursting with fresh flavors. This recipe made a weak-colored dressing with no depth of flavor. It was very bland. If I hadn't reduced the anchovy paste down to only 1 tsp., it would have been far too "anchovy-y". So I searched again and found another recipe from a famous television chef which contained lots of fresh basil, twice the green onion, fresh garlic, and used sour cream instead of creme fraiche (a much more economical and easier-to-find substitution). It was bursting with flavor and color, and very closely resembled the dressing that I fell in love with at the restaurant. This recipe is lacking ingredients needed to bring it from dull and bland, both in flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
yummy stuff. I added an avocado to boost the veggies. Great after-school dip for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent and authentic. Adding or subtracting ingredients is a personal choice but you are not making green goddess dressing. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
taste is ok but this is definitely not authentic "green goddess". The origin of this dressing was to make a real mayonnaise homemade in the blender as that's what chefs did back in the day it was created. the tarragon was the center point plus chive or scallion, garlic and anchovy with parsley. when you whirl that around in the egg until it's well blended, yes, that's the "green" part. Then emulsify oil into it. Then balance out the finished mayonnaise with creme fraiche. I didn't see garlic in this recipe or the tarragon. Thus, it's not an authentic adaptation of what the original creator intended. The original version of this was meant to be served with constructed crab seafood salad, much as remoulade or something similar is still used in New Orleans cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is tasty, but way too thick when prepared as indicated. I had to add about 1/3 cup more liquid and it greatly inproved the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Ihave made this several time now. we love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I wish I would have scaled this down to a smaller yield because I know this will not get eaten. First, the description indicates the anchovy paste isn't noticeable. Trust me, a tablespoon of anchovy paste in a cup of dressing is noticeable! In my opinion a teaspoon, maximum, would be better. Second, with only green onion, parsley and chives, the dressing lacks the complexity and depth that the addition of other herbs would provide - adding dill and basil would really round the herb flavor out. Third, between the lemon juice, parsley and anchovy paste there is a hint of bitterness that a touch of honey or sugar would rectify. Finally, creme fraiche is a several hour process to make and purchasing it is not only expensive but it's not always readily available. I don't think using creme fraiche necessarily makes this dressing any better than just substituting sour cream or sour cream and a little buttermilk. Overall, the anchovy taste SHOULD not be noticeable and I missed the creamy herbiness a good Green Goddess Dressing should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I could not find the creme fraiche so I used yogurt to keep the fat down. The recipe was easy to make and a hit with the family. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States