Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was delish! I didn't use russets, but used Yukon golds. Next time russets - as they will absorb all the delishness. It was great tasting. Will do it again. The person who I made this for thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJFichthorn
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
it's really close to what I was expecting, except a little too sweet. still very yummy! I added a few boiled eggs on top & more bacon to cut the sugar. xmas dinner feast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dutchess of Transylvania
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
No talking during dinner tonight, just a lot of yummmm. I tweeked the recipe a bit . Add 1tsp . Of apple vinegar instead of the last 1 / 4 cup of white vinegar. Added only 1 table spoon of sugar. Added 1 / 4 cup of buttermilk and 1/4 tbsp of sweet butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchess of Transylvania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Loved this!!! I made this for a family dinner, wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jersey John
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Only thing I did different was double the recipe. This was very good, reminded me of my favorite German restaurant. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My German wife told me she had eaten the best potato salad ever when she was a kid and her mom made it for their family, however, I raised the bar with my little twist of your recipe. I was smoking a Boston Butt on my electric smoker and decided to cook my potatoes in an aluminum foil pan beneath the butt. The combination of pork drippings and the pecan wood smoke on the potatoes made the most awesome potato salad using this recipe that I have ever eaten, and now my wife sometimes goes into my man-cave and clears a path to my man cooker (smoker) to give me a hint that she's wanting me to make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made these potatoes last night and my family could not get enough. I did up the bacon to a hole pack just because my family likes bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Love Love Love this!!! I tripled the recipe for an extended family dinner and had ZERO leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I lived in Basel, Switzerland, for 16 years and spent a lot of time right over the border in Germany. They have great salads, meats, dairy's (oh dear!) and breads! My ex German mother in law made a great potato salad, but I have to say that for my own taste buds, this blew hers right out of the water. Be sure to curb the sugar to taste, however. Go slow as you go, tasting it. One major potato rule, especially for those who found it too dry, is that baking potatoes are starchy. Use Yukon, Charlotte, or New Red potatoes, as they are waxy...meaning they don't fall apart or lose their texture, but they also allow the dressing to rest on top rather than being absorbed and disappearing, causing the potatoes to get dry. Too bland? Peel and slice the potatoes to quarter inch thickness and boil them in broth: they'll absorb the flavor very well :) For those reviewers who found it without texture, try adding yellow mustard seed...just a pinch, and thinly sliced celery over a mandolin or celery tops, finely chopped and freshly sliced green onions :) That's my rant! I loved this, but do curb the sugar! And, yes, you can whisk in an egg into the dressing, giving it a creaminess as long as you let it set in the pan a minute or two to cook. There are so many ways to make German potato salad, so please appreciate the variations and have fun with them! If you can't say anything nice, why say anything at all? Cooking is fun! And thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachMom65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossmoor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Have been making this my whole life. My Grandmother and her family were "Pennsylvania Dutch" and this is very close to what she made. The only differences I could see were that she used whole boiled potatoes, peeled and chopped after cooled down, and cider vinegar instead of white wine. These small differences won't make that much difference in taste. The differences seem to about what they had on hand, the cook's preferences and tweaks, and what their particular families preferred. But this certainly is the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States