Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This potato salad recipe is SO easy and delicious. My family loved it, especially my German mom! I made only a few small changes: I did not peel the potatoes, I scanted the sugar, used dried parsley and drained half the grease BEFORE sauteeing the onions then drained the excess, keeping only a small amount. The flavor of the dish was outstanding, not at all lacking because of those changes. This recipe is going to my top 10 favorite side dishes. Thank you for sharing, Schoolbee123.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I doubled the recipe. It was too much grease for me. But I never fry anything, so that was probably the issue with me. It was good but I am going to try something with flour next time. Thank you though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! More bacon, more bacon, more bacon!!! Also, use half the sugar. The next day, I pan fried it to make home fries and ate it with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Delicious potatoes! I make these all the time. Great recipe, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I added little cucumber chunks before heating through the salad. Delicious .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tripled the sauce, because I was not sure how much I would need to cover my potatoes and I did not want to run out. I used a pound of bacon, and I used Russet potatoes. To keep the potatoes from getting "mushy" pop them on a baking sheet in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes, then mix them with the other ingredients. This helps them hold their shape. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe several times for potlucks and group dinner events... Sometimes I add in other sautéed veggies - mushrooms, celery, carrots, etc. It's all good! I don't eat meat, so I leave the bacon out. This dish is seriously easy to make and very seriously delicious. I love that it doesn't use the heavy mayo in other potato recipes. I sub dried parsley, and it tastes just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Korver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this recipe and this was fantastic. And everyone loved it and it quickly vanished off the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great potato salad! I doubled the recipe and made extra sauce. I probably made too much sauce but it tasted great. Everyone loved it! I will definitely make this again. Thank-you so much for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't peel the potatoes, but put them in with skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States