Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I am German, born and raised, German citizen, and there are many different ways to make German potato salad. There is no "we do it this way". For example, I make mine with Miracle Whip. Very authentic German, seeing as I am German and made this for many years before moving to the US when I was 24. There is no one way to make a German potato salad. Not to mention that different regions have different ways of doing things. Now go make this potato salad and enjoy it. :) Who cares what it's called, as long as it tastes good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I found this recipe to be not only delicious but I found it to be as authentic as any other's I have made from other respected cook books, (such as the Joy of Cooking, for example). I have never heard of a recipe for GPS where one leaves the skin on! And I enjoy 'potato skins in many different ways!! My Mother -in Law made one of the BEST GPS I have ever enjoyed and she always peeled her potatos. My Mother in Law is Italian and I dare anyone to find fault with her totally authentic GPS Recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Having never tried German Potato Salad. I quite liked it. I new there was a potato salad that was with a vinagrette dressing. Instead of Mayo and eggs. I was surprised to find this was a warm salad. I prepared it almost to the letter, but I only had a few sugar cubes in the house so I used six of them which I think is equal to about 2 tbsp instead of 3. The recipe didn't say what kind of potatoes to use. I used Russets. I think it needs a firmer potato. I look forward to trying this one again. ( I have tried this again using mini red potatoes, quartered with skin on. Prepared exactly per the recipe and this is now a staple dish in my house)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
As I am allergic to mayo I found this recipie absolutely delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!!!! Possibly the most delicious potato salad I've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly using russet potatoes. My husband and kids loved it too. Next time I might try doubling the sauce and using less sugar. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Tastes Gute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yum. Didn't add the sugar. Added some mayo. Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Way too sweet. Missing substance. Needs too many alterations to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
very good and easy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was a delicious potato salad! I like mayo, so I was on the hunt for a potato salad that didn't have a lot of mayo in it and a teaspoon of celery seed, it adds a nice texture...this is my favorite potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa

Displaying results 81-90 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States