Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe! And best: no flour in the dressing. So many recipes call for flour which is unnecessary because the starch from the potatoes thickens the dressing. I do add two cut up hard-boiled eggs per my German husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Absolutely looove this recipe! I've cooked this before and have had rave reviews from husband and guests/ friends.. Authentic or not? It's a hit! I lived in Germany for a few years, long enough to get a taste of their customs.. and I truly can't say whether it's authentic or not... While in Germany it was really good.. Living in the U.S.A. it's really good.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I have been eating and making German potato sale for most of my life. This is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was an amazing potato salad recipe! As many other reviewers have stated, I added about 3/4 tsp celery seed. I made a large amount for a picnic (a whole 5# bag of potatoes!) and there was just enough left afterward for me to add to my lunch the next day. This is a safe recipe for a picnic since it doesn't contain cheese or mayo, and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Devoured by everyone at the cookout! Will definitely make this a staple at all of our upcoming events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Vitello-Robel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very good but a littlw too sweet use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Found this after going to Hermann Mo and wanted to get some German style sides for home! I follow exactly using baby red potatoes cut up in quarters. I also use Apple Cider Vinegar since I think it's got a great flavor that works well with any meat main dishes. The best batch I made was prepared in a cast iron pot and placed in a 200 degree oven for 30-45 minutes while the rest of the food finished cooking. That little time in the oven put this over the top as all the flavors had a little more time to meld without overdoing the red potatoes. Also, being lazy, I dice the bacon up first and never pull it back out of the pan after it's crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was Amazing - used apple cider vinegar (vs. white) and coconut palm sugar (vs. sugar) - family Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I also liked this potato salad but read what others said and decided to modify it. I used 6 large Yukon gold potatoes and boiled them with the skins on in salted water. Covered them with water and about 1 t salt. I used 7 slices of bacon, fried them crisp, and discarded all but about 2 T of bacon grease. One large onion and a couple green onions for color. 1/4 cup plus 2 T vinegar. (I added extra because people said it was dry). 3 T water. 2 t white sugar, and it was plenty sweet. Then 1 t salt and pepper to taste. And parsley for color. I followed the rest of the directions, but put all the crumbled bacon in at once, and poured the sauce over the cubed potatoes. I did this for 6 people and it all went. I could have even made more for leftovers had I known my guests would of went crazy for it. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I have made this German Potato Salad several times and wish that I have made the batch bigger each and every time. Easy and quick recipe for someone like myself who cannot cook. I follow the directions to the T and it taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States