Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I have made this several times and it's just the tastiest potato salad ever--German or otherwise! Best made ahead of time, and served at room temperature---or a day ahead, and taken out of the refrig a few hours before serving. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Very good but when I make it next time I will put less sugar. A bit too sweet in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really a good recipe!! We enjoyed it with red cabbage and some great sausages (I made those myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was excellent, after a couple of tweaks. It's an excellent starting point for getting it more to your preferred flavors (more vinegar, less vinegar, sweeter...etc.) The first time I made it, I doubled the recipe and it ended up tasting like pure vinegar. Some people actually loved it...I love vinegar, but could not even eat it. The second time I made a single batch of it, I used 3 tbsp cider vinegar and 1 tbsp white vinegar, instead of 1/4 cup white vinegar (just to take a little of the bite out), 2 tbsp sugar, instead of 3, 2 tsp salt, added 1/4 tsp celery seed, boiled 9 smallish/medium red potatoes whole, then sliced them, leaving some of the skins on. Also, use 3/4 cup chicken broth, instead of 2 tbsp water. Oh, yeah...and A LOT more bacon, 4 strips of bacon is for sissies! lol Anyway, after the modifications I listed above, this was an AWESOME potato salad! The family could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Firth Riopta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My husband challenged me to make a German potato salad that could compare to his grandmother's. I made this, and he said it definitely compares, and that if she were still living, she'd have enjoyed it as much as he did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have made this a number of times and always get compliments and requests for seconds! Usually I increase the recipe for 6 as we love leftovers (actually I think it tastes even better heated up the next day) -- I use the exact recipe except I usually fry up extra bacon -- (can anything have too much bacon?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very, very good. Just like my German Mom used to make, although she would cook the potatoes in their "jackets" then roughly peel/dice them into the bacon/vinegar sauce, plus I think she added some caraway. THANK YOU for bringing back a beloved childhood recipe I was having a hard time re-creating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Fantastic! Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made this recipe for a summer potluck and didn't have any to bring home. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you for posting it...Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made something like this for years. I fry up a lot more bacon and use balsamic vinegar ( light or dark, slightly sweet version). I also agree that it needs some celery seed. Friends from out-of-state are heart-broken if I don't have this when they arrive. We fry it after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States