Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Absolutely a Great Recipe!!! Have made it multiple times and is always a hit - for bbqs everyone compliments it....when I ask what I can bring mom always says, "how about that German Potato Salad you make" ;) Leftovers taste great...my best friend can eat an entire bowl as a main course for dinner. The only thing I did differently was to leave the skins on the potato - 1)It still tastes great 2)Saves mad time peeling potatoes 3)Adds nice color to the dish. Yayyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is fantastic! My Nana used to add a few grated gherkins in to the salad instead of using the vinegar - as you get the vinegar taste from the pickles. This is one of my favourites and I have it either cold i the summer at BBQs or hot in the winter with some Bratwurst! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, I think it may depend on what part of Germany one hails from. My Oma is from Stuttgart and this is how she always made her potato salad. Thank you for publishing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This recipe is sooo delicious. My personal preference is to have it a little less sweet, I think I will try 2 Tbsp of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Doubled the recipe except for the sugar, forgot to save the bacon for the top---didn't matter at all. Served it room temperature--it was outstanding. I would skip peeling the potatoes but my husband doesn't like the skin...such a waste of time peeling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This potato salad recipe is SO easy and delicious. My family loved it, especially my German mom! I made only a few small changes: I did not peel the potatoes, I scanted the sugar, used dried parsley and drained half the grease BEFORE sauteeing the onions then drained the excess, keeping only a small amount. The flavor of the dish was outstanding, not at all lacking because of those changes. This recipe is going to my top 10 favorite side dishes. Thank you for sharing, Schoolbee123.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I doubled the recipe. It was too much grease for me. But I never fry anything, so that was probably the issue with me. It was good but I am going to try something with flour next time. Thank you though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! More bacon, more bacon, more bacon!!! Also, use half the sugar. The next day, I pan fried it to make home fries and ate it with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Delicious potatoes! I make these all the time. Great recipe, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I added little cucumber chunks before heating through the salad. Delicious .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States