Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I was looking for a potato salad without the mayo & this salad was delicious! The only thing I did differently was to use polish kielbasa instead of bacon because I did not have bacon on hand. I cut the sausage is small pieces and saute the sausage with sweet onions, then added the rest of the ingredients and potatoes. I also substituted one pkg of stevia for the sugar and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Very good. The only change I made was to use Apple cider vinegar . I served this with red cabbage and the Wisconsin bratwurst recipe from this site. Next time I will slice the potatoes rather then cube, so it will be more like what I have had in German restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I used 6 strips of bacon, decreased the sugar to 2 tbsp, garnished with scallions and thinly sliced cucumbers. I followed everything else. The only things I would do differently next time is add more cucumber to heighten the flavors and decrease the amount of bacon to 4, as the recipe states. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbatterypark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I followed this recipe as closely as possible, however the potatoes turned out mushy (I probably should have checked them sooner than the recommended 10 minutes) and it was way too sweet. I added some more black pepper and salt to try to balance it out more, even a little garlic powder because 3 tbsp of sugar is too much. I'll let it set for a couple hours to see if the flavor improves. If I ever make this again I think I will use apple cider vinegar and maybe only 1 tbsp of sugar instead. It was way too sweet and mushy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The sugar is what really brings this from good to great. Made this tonight (with schnitzel and spaetzel) and it was a massive hit. Absolutely going to make this again (and again (and again)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this several times over the last few years, great recipe! Have made a few modifications. First of all, I slice the potatoes into 1/4 inch rounds instead of dicing and cook about five minutes after the water starts to boil. I also double the sauce ingredients (vinegar through black pepper) and add a 1/4t of celery seed and 2T flour. If you like German potato salad, or have never had it but want to try it, this is the recipe for you! Goes great with grilled brats, pork chops or schnitzel .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made the recipe almost exactly as written (I reduced the sugar because i was concerned about it being too sweet) but this potato salad recipe was very bland and somewhat greasy. It really needs something. Other reviewers have mentioned adding dill, I think that would help. And next time I wouldn't use all the bacon grease, maybe omit it all together and use olive oil to fry the onions. Even though I like all the ingredients in this recipe, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I made this for my husband and me for dinner tonight. I attempted to halve the recipe and eventhough the vinegar was not to my liking, I will make this again using even less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I waa looking for a recipe that didnt use celery (i have none) when i found tjis one. It makes up super easy and has great flavor! I can't wait to see what my husband thinks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny bartolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I've never made this before but it was easy and turned out great! I happened to make bacon for breakfast and saved the drippings , so that was one less step I had to do later. I followed the recipe exactly, and just when it seemed a little too watery it just thickened right up! I would definitely make this again, but probably a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States