Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Many many years ago, while married to my ex-Husband who's step Mother came here with her Army Husband, from Germany, made this every time we came over to eat. Me being really really young (17), I had an attitude about "Mother-in-laws" & I would NOT admit that I liked her German Potato Salad, so, I never asked her for the recipe... To ANYTHING she made. How stupid I was. And here after 34 years, here is her recipe!! I was used to Miracle Whip, egg, mustard etc potato salad & I always hated potato salad. Her German Potato Salad took me a while to get used to, but I DID learn to love her GPS. Now, after all my years on "Allrecipes" is the GPS My ex-Mother-in-law made. I am going to make this & take it to her house & say "Thank you" for all the patients she used with my stupid arse!! She really was good to me, in spite of my nasty attitude. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I am German, born and raised, German citizen, and there are many different ways to make German potato salad. There is no "we do it this way". For example, I make mine with Miracle Whip. Very authentic German, seeing as I am German and made this for many years before moving to the US when I was 24. There is no one way to make a German potato salad. Not to mention that different regions have different ways of doing things. Now go make this potato salad and enjoy it. :) Who cares what it's called, as long as it tastes good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I found this recipe to be not only delicious but I found it to be as authentic as any other's I have made from other respected cook books, (such as the Joy of Cooking, for example). I have never heard of a recipe for GPS where one leaves the skin on! And I enjoy 'potato skins in many different ways!! My Mother -in Law made one of the BEST GPS I have ever enjoyed and she always peeled her potatos. My Mother in Law is Italian and I dare anyone to find fault with her totally authentic GPS Recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Having never tried German Potato Salad. I quite liked it. I new there was a potato salad that was with a vinagrette dressing. Instead of Mayo and eggs. I was surprised to find this was a warm salad. I prepared it almost to the letter, but I only had a few sugar cubes in the house so I used six of them which I think is equal to about 2 tbsp instead of 3. The recipe didn't say what kind of potatoes to use. I used Russets. I think it needs a firmer potato. I look forward to trying this one again. ( I have tried this again using mini red potatoes, quartered with skin on. Prepared exactly per the recipe and this is now a staple dish in my house)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
As I am allergic to mayo I found this recipie absolutely delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!!!! Possibly the most delicious potato salad I've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly using russet potatoes. My husband and kids loved it too. Next time I might try doubling the sauce and using less sugar. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Tastes Gute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yum. Didn't add the sugar. Added some mayo. Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Way too sweet. Missing substance. Needs too many alterations to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
very good and easy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States