Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I waa looking for a recipe that didnt use celery (i have none) when i found tjis one. It makes up super easy and has great flavor! I can't wait to see what my husband thinks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny bartolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I've never made this before but it was easy and turned out great! I happened to make bacon for breakfast and saved the drippings , so that was one less step I had to do later. I followed the recipe exactly, and just when it seemed a little too watery it just thickened right up! I would definitely make this again, but probably a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I'm giving it three stars because that is too much sugar. I will try it again without the sugar.BettieG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Add 1 T flour to bacon drippings to help thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BluDragon
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! Just made it, even though I have to let it "set", the flavor now is perfect! (I added a green bell pepper, I wanted color & didn't have parsley, I used LESS than a TBSP of sugar, as I don't like sweet, & I used a good amount of dried oregano in place of parsley, added the seasonings while sautéing onion & pepper )...can't wait to try it several hours from now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I made a few small adjustments, but it's just a matter of taste. I lowered the sugar and raised the vinegar by a little. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon each of paprika and dill weed, and an 1/8 teaspoon powdered mustard. These small adjustments are worth a try, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe with just a few alterations to serve with Root Beer Pulled Pork Sliders. First of all, anything that has bacon in it is likely to be delicious! Upon sautéing the onions in the rendered bacon fat, I sprinkled white pepper, paprika, and ground garlic pepper seasoning onto them. When it came time to add the vinegar I opted for White Champagne Vinegar (mainly because I rarely use it.) I also added a cube of chicken bouillon to the vinegar/water mixture and took previous reviewers suggestions to scale the sugar down to 1 tablespoon. I believe this recipe would be wonderful as written, but thoroughly enjoyed my variation upon it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Delicious and very quick and easy. Used only 1 tablespoon of sugar and served with sautéed Weiss wurst and onions. Definitely a keeper. Tasted as good as my Swiss mother would have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise L Graves

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Too much sugar and not enough vinegar. This is a good place to start, but I will be making some adjustments next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States