Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I want to thank you for the first "authentic" German Potato salad like mom used to make. The only addition would be to after the bacon and onions are fried, abut a cup of water is added to the pan and brought to a boil. Then about 2 heaping tablespoons of corn starch are mixed into about 1/4 cup of water. After bringing bacon, onion, and water to boil, add corn starch mix slowly, while stirring all the time. When thick enough add potatoes and let them get hot. The result is a sauce that is heavenly. That is my mom's authentic German Potato Salad. Try it. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wicihowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Good recipe! Instead of the water my mother in Germany used broth made with Knorr instant. So did I in this recipe. I also used Apple Cider Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muunstruk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
This potato salad taste very good, but is faraway from a German potato salad, so what the heck. As long as the thing has a name, and taste so good every thing is okay ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Made this today, cut the sugar and added broth. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was wonderful! I made 1 1/2 recipe, but didn't increase the sugar. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
DH and I enjoyed this salad. My rating is pretty much based on the written recipe. The directions could be a bit clearer, and there was no specification as to what type of potatoes would be best. I used red; the texture would certainly be different with russets. I did take the suggestion of others and only used about a teaspoon of sugar; that was plenty sweet enough. All in all, this is a good, solid recipe. Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
This recipe is great! I really loved it. I used 3 potatoes diced made a small 3 cups. I believe if you used 6 potatoes its would turn out to be better for a potluck or group event. 3 potatoes seems to be a nice family dinner size for 3 to 4 people. It smelled different when I added the white viniger but I love the melding of the two tastes of the sweet sugar which balenced out the tartly strong white viniger. I would recomend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I have made this salad several times and it is always a hit. it has become my go-to recipe for summer cookouts and parties. Last year I made it for my boyfriend's family Father Day picnic and everyone liked it. This year, they requested I bring it again. Thank you very much for sharing it. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday and shared it with some neighbors and a friend. They all said it was Excellent and loved it! Needless to say, I will be making this again and again. I am so happy I chose this one over all the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevi Kev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
So good the way it is, but my family loves bacon so I add 6 slices (I'm a vegetarian and make this for my husband and son because every carnivore needs this in their life) and my mom(who makes this and will not share her recipe)told me celery seed is the secret to good potato salad so I throw it in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States