Authentic German Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I disagree with the previous poster who said this wasn't authentic German. Cheesecake in Germany is very different than cheesecake here; this is the closest I've found to what I remember having in Germany. It bakes up very easily; I even added some raisins. My German grandma was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The reviewer who stated that this recipe was bad must not know REAL cheesecake. This was soooo good. If you are looking for something sickeningly sweet, then pass on this recipe. If you like the taste of mild cheesecake, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've only ever used quark for cheesecake... A nice touch is mixing some canned peaches (coarsely diced) into the batter before baking. This is what my German grandma always does for hot summer afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I lived in Germany many years ago and loved eating cheesecake, but the cheesecake recipes in the US are very different. This recipe is the closest I've found to a traditional German cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for my father-in-law, who is from Germany. He said this was an authentic German cheesecake recipe. I was a little worried about using cottage cheese because of the "chunks," but the consistency is very smooth. Also keep in mind that this type of cheesecake is supposed to be more brown around the edges than our typical sour cream American cheescakes. This is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious! If anyone wants to play with these ingredients, I found some substitutions for quark (which is what real german cheesecake is made of)...here they are... Note: There are 3 substitutions that can be used for the Quark in this recipe if Quark is not available. One is to use farmer’s cheese, another is to purée cottage cheese in a blender or food processor, and the third is to purée eight parts of ricotta cheese with 1 part of sour cream in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We like this cheesecake very much. We found it when looking for a recipe for my son to make for German class for Octoberfest. We liked it so well we made it again, and again. We use cottage cheese and puree it in the blender. My husband says it tasted like cheesecake from a fine restaurant. We plan to make a berry topping to put on it for Christmas on the side for those who like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I live in Germany now and Quark is a wonderful thing I found..It is usefull in many recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
quark can be found in the dairy section at any international food store if you want to make an authentic recipe there is no room for substitutions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Hedging my bets, I used a 9 in. cake pan with parchment paper, sprayed it with Pam, filled and baked it in a water bath. I wanted to add a crust to the bottom, so I found some German cookies. I crushed them and added a bit of melted butter and pressed them in place. This was the Best tasting CC I have Ever eaten! Smooth as a babies bottom and not a crack in sight! I had only limes so, in it went. I sugared the peel, very good. Thank You Miss Alix I will keep this one around. I would like to try it with oranges next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States