Authentic German Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I lived in Germany many years ago and loved eating cheesecake, but the cheesecake recipes in the US are very different. This recipe is the closest I've found to a traditional German cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I live in Germany now and Quark is a wonderful thing I found..It is usefull in many recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is so not an "Authentic German" receipe. While it tastes good and less rich than western recipes, Germans do not use Cream Cheese and they do not use Cottage Cheese -- they use Quark! Keep looking if you want authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I disagree with the previous poster who said this wasn't authentic German. Cheesecake in Germany is very different than cheesecake here; this is the closest I've found to what I remember having in Germany. It bakes up very easily; I even added some raisins. My German grandma was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The reviewer who stated that this recipe was bad must not know REAL cheesecake. This was soooo good. If you are looking for something sickeningly sweet, then pass on this recipe. If you like the taste of mild cheesecake, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious! If anyone wants to play with these ingredients, I found some substitutions for quark (which is what real german cheesecake is made of)...here they are... Note: There are 3 substitutions that can be used for the Quark in this recipe if Quark is not available. One is to use farmer’s cheese, another is to purée cottage cheese in a blender or food processor, and the third is to purée eight parts of ricotta cheese with 1 part of sour cream in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've only ever used quark for cheesecake... A nice touch is mixing some canned peaches (coarsely diced) into the batter before baking. This is what my German grandma always does for hot summer afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Okay, I hate having to give this a bad review. Okay here we go. I made 2 of these, one with the ingredients listed with cottage cheese, and the 2nd with quark(in the place of cottage cheese), since I live on a base and our commissary has it readily available to us. Now based on the 1st one only....the flavor was good, however, it had a nasty texture. It had gritty bits of cottage cheese that had harden in the baking process. Which no one liked at all. I whipped the tar out of the batter hoping that the cottage cheese would break up and not thinking it hadn't when I poured it in to the baking pan. While it looked pretty and eye pleasing and it set beautifully, it was not our cup of tea. If using cottage cheese, use your food processor to blend it to a fine mush like texture..that would work. However, as written I will not make this again. Now as suggested by the author of the recipe using Quark. I have to say it was fabulous. It was creamy, and yet a very soft. My only problem with the 2nd one was the cheesecake cracked straight through the cheesecake, but yet was totally soft. Use a 8 to 9 inch springform for better results. If anyone is unfamiliar to Quark, it's a very fine quality of ricotta. And that's what I would use in place of the cottage cheese if Quark is unavailable. I was impressed with the 2nd verison of the recipe more so then the 1st. The bottom never really crusted but it still was able to be removed from the pan and enjoyed by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Hedging my bets, I used a 9 in. cake pan with parchment paper, sprayed it with Pam, filled and baked it in a water bath. I wanted to add a crust to the bottom, so I found some German cookies. I crushed them and added a bit of melted butter and pressed them in place. This was the Best tasting CC I have Ever eaten! Smooth as a babies bottom and not a crack in sight! I had only limes so, in it went. I sugared the peel, very good. Thank You Miss Alix I will keep this one around. I would like to try it with oranges next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I uploaded a recipe for QUARK because I and probably lots of other Germans miss it greatly. If you use the Quark instead of the cottage and cream cheese the cheesecake is very smooth and delicious. Raisins (especially if they are soaked in rum) are often used in cheesecakes in Germany, gives it a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miSSaleX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States