Authentic German Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have made this cheesecake just as written and it was lovely! I also like the idea of being able to change it up by topping with a sauce, whipped cream or whatever I fancy. It was simple to make and a treat to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delish! I've always liked cheesecake, but it's normally too rich to eat more than a couple bites. And I'm not a fan of the graham cracker crust. I could eat several slices of this cheesecake (which may be a bad thing!). Make sure you don't use a pan that's too wide or it gets over cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I hate to change up recipes, but..I only had one 8oz 1/3 less fat cream cheese on hand and blended the cottage cheese in the food processor. I also planned poorly and wanted to eat it in less than 7 hours. I put it in the oven at 5pm and we ate it by 7:30pm. I baked for an hour and took it out of the oven and placed in front of a fan to cool. After 20min. or so I put it in the refridgerator. It tasted delicious. Very creamy, despite the lack of ingredients I had. I didn't feel so guilty eating it because it only had one cream cheese and low fat cottage cheese. I want to make it again according to the directions and see how different it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Just finished my second piece of this wonderful cake.It is not completely the real thing ( no quark )but it is VERY close.Not to sweet,good texture.All I did I added some blackberries.Had to bake it somewhat longer,ca 90 min.Love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
omg! mother in law will be 90 she is very german and loves her german sweets so this will be a big hit at her 90th bday party....eating a piece of the test sample now...well actually the second piece...just plain no sauce on it....fantastic....thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is very close to the German recipes, I collected (I am German) however, one of the reviewers stated, that Quark is a kind of Ricotta - that's not true. Quark is creamy and low-fat - I always use a combination of Cottage Cheese (4 %)(I run it through my food processor, to give it a smooth consistency) and low-fat Cream Cheese for my recipes, because they don't bake alright here in humid Florida (I always have problems with German recipes, which are fabulous at my Sisters, but always weird looking at my place - and the crack is a sign, that the cake is done and baked through (and it will crack) - you'll make sure, by using a wooden toothpick or a butter knife and stick it in close to the center, if nothing sticks, it's done. You'll have let to rest these kind of cakes at least for a day, otherwise, it can fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I used Ricotta instead of cottage cheese. It was very good. The first few times I made it, it turned out great. Now I am having problems with the recipe. I have not changed any of the ingredients, but now it is turning very dark and wants to swell so much that it leaks out of the cake pan. I have always used cake pan for this, but it did not burn or leak out. I do not have any idea as to why. Can someone give me some advise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
quark can be found in the dairy section at any international food store if you want to make an authentic recipe there is no room for substitutions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We like this cheesecake very much. We found it when looking for a recipe for my son to make for German class for Octoberfest. We liked it so well we made it again, and again. We use cottage cheese and puree it in the blender. My husband says it tasted like cheesecake from a fine restaurant. We plan to make a berry topping to put on it for Christmas on the side for those who like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for my father-in-law, who is from Germany. He said this was an authentic German cheesecake recipe. I was a little worried about using cottage cheese because of the "chunks," but the consistency is very smooth. Also keep in mind that this type of cheesecake is supposed to be more brown around the edges than our typical sour cream American cheescakes. This is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States