Authentic German Bread (Bauernbrot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Caissa
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My mom is German and I spent most of my childhood there, so we know our German bread around here. This is a very good recipe for Bauernbrot. It was also quite easy to make. I made this for the first time this weekend and my mom and I were beyond delighted. My kids were devouring it too. A few things to mention: I used dark rye, instead of light, since that was all I could find at the store. The starter I made never really rose much, though it was very active and bubbling. No problems with the bread, it rose just fine. While kneading, the dough seemed pretty sticky to me, so I added a fair amount of flour as I kneaded. During the last rise it stilled wanted to spread (I think partly just because of the size of these enormous loaves) so I think I will get some bread baskets to use in the future. I floured and scored the top of the bread before baking it on a stone. This made two very large loaves. They barely fit on my stone. I might have to make three smaller loaves next time. I think I will also add some spices and rye berries next time as well. Great recipe. Thank you Petra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
FYI ... 1 1/2 ounces fresh yesast equals 5 tsp plus a scant more of instant yeast. This is a wonderful bread, worth the advance planning !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is some of the best bread I've ever made. Excellent texture and crust. Good flavour too. I halved the recipe and it still made 2 big loaves (appx. 1.8 - 2 lbs/each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I will try this again...the loaf(s) ended up fairly flat as if I hurried the rise. That wasn't the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is the real Deal!!!!!! Wonderful bread and easy to make. Thank you soooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I have made this bread twice a month all summer , I freeze it and take it out as I need it , my search for a good) is over this is the one for me. Norb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I absolutely love this receipe! However, some helpful hints to include in your directions, this particular dough will double very quickly and you must put it in a large container to prevent it from overflowing! I didn't see the spices recommended for the bread until i read through your reviews, those would have been good to know ahead of time. Also, fresh yeast is hard to come by in my leg of the world so i used dry active yeast in converted equivalency.. works good! I don't have an electric mixer and so I knead it myself which is more difficult but allows you to regulate how much extra flour you knead in. IF you get the dry crumblies, you have too much flour in it, if it doesn't rise, your yeast has died or you didn't use enough. Could also be that your water was too warm or too cold when dissolving the yeast it won't rise either. This is not intended to be condescending just helpful!! I come from a long line of Irish and German bakers and my mom loves this bread! It gets better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My starter is kind of weak I guess - even though it's all bubbly when warm - but I have tried this bread twice and it never rose sufficiently. I suppose I will have to try it with the starter in the recipe at one point, but the thing is, for people who already have a starter, this recipe lacks the quantity you will really need of it, and a lot of people may in fact already have a starter and are just looking for new and different recipes. Thus the 4 stars. The taste is good though, I think if it is nicely risen and moist, it will probably be just like good old German bread - provided you add some bread spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
The hard part is wanting the sour dough starter to be ready NOW! I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and subbed agave syrup for sugar in the starter, while using no sweetener when making the bread! I love the texture and taste of this bread! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Bread turned out great, but I made breads before which tasted about the same, but were way less time consuming. I would recommend the recipe, just because it gives you the feeling of the real bread making, but if you want to bake it quick, don't bother making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States