Authentic German Bread (Bauernbrot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
The hard part is wanting the sour dough starter to be ready NOW! I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and subbed agave syrup for sugar in the starter, while using no sweetener when making the bread! I love the texture and taste of this bread! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Bread turned out great, but I made breads before which tasted about the same, but were way less time consuming. I would recommend the recipe, just because it gives you the feeling of the real bread making, but if you want to bake it quick, don't bother making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was my first attempt at making a bread that began with a starter. It came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
the only way bread is should taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvia D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
A bit disappointing, having had a childhood with deliciouss bread in germany.Maybe my memories are coloured? Will try it again with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Petra
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I submitted this recipe and I really want to share something valuable. In Germany, we usually add spices to the bread and they are available for purchase already ground up or as seeds. If you want, take a handful of Coriander, fennel, Anis, and/or Caraway seeds and add to the dough. I actually buy loose fennel tea seeds (cheaper) and smash it up good with a Mortar and add it. It adds a wonderful flavor and tastes so good! I now use a small coffee bean grinder to grind the seeds and I often add sunflowers seeds (salted or not) to the dough as well, which makes the bread juicier. The bread in the picture was done in a traditional bread basket. I put a dish towel in the basket, then sprinkle it with flour (you can see the flour on the outside of the bread in the picture), then pad the bread dough into it for the second rising. Invert onto a baking sheet (I always use a baking stone) and bake! Oh, if you decide to freeze some (it freezes very well), simply put it in a zip lock bag, then when you are ready to eat it thaw it in the CLOSED bag! It only takes a few hours to thaw. Enjoy! I noticed mixed results from different people and would like to say that this is not uncommon with this type of bread. Even I get different results sometimes depending on the climate. It matters quite a bit if it is humid/warm or cold. I do believe (but have no prove) that even elevation makes a difference. So if you get poor results DON'T GIVE UP. Try...temp/climate/baking time of day...changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I have a friend from Germany and it just kills her that she cannot get German bread here. I had wanted to make bread from scratch so I decided to try this for her. She said it is exactly like she gets in Germany and is so thankful that she can now get it in the states. She calls me her own personal baker. I personally do not like the bread, she says it is an acquired taste and the only American who she knows that likes it is her husband. We will be making this recipes very frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Excellent Bread! I had a sourdough starter so I used it. I used dark rye flour and grainy bread flour. I baked it in bread pans and it was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made 1/2 recipe as a full one would have been way too much for the family. Read recipe wrong and made the starter a day too late to get bread baked on the weekend. So into the 'fridge it went for 4 days and it was just fine. Something to remember for next time. Need to add more white flour the next time, however, as the dough was way too soft (I KNEW this and went ahead anyways, shame on me) and lost shape on the 2nd rise. Looked like a big hockey puck!. But taste was excellent, just like I remember. I will try this again and remember next time to go with my instincts and add more flour. Its getting 4 stars because the flour was off, but I would give a 5 for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
is this what we refered to as brown bread when I was in Germany?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States