Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I had left over egg whites from making crepes and I decided to make meringues with what was left. This recipe was easy (tiring 'cause I had to hand whip it) but lovely and light, with that satisfying crunch. Definately an elegant light cookie. I believe it would be a great recipe to use as a base for different flavours. The only drawback was the length of time for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I served French Meringues at an afternoon tea...easy to make and visually elegant. Even though I didn't have a pastry tube...I made them free-hand with a spoon...they were still beautiful! Make sure you whip them for at least 15 minutes to get the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Great!!!! I have made lots of different meringue cookies and these were the best. They confectioners sugar made them creamier than others. They are so easy to make - just keep mixing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANECOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I used this recipe and feel that there is WAY too much sugar in it. If one breaks it down, per 1 egg white is over 1/2 cup of sugar!! I would reduce it by at least half. I recommend that once the egg whites "peak", add a spoonful at a time and keep tasting it. That way you won't over sugar it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Couldn't be any easier or simpler. These are a favorite around my house since my kids can't eat any artificial colorings or flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I was shocked that I was able to make something close to as great as what they sell in Paris...Although I did have trouble keeping my oven at a low enough temp...I agree less sugar was needed...and I used a large zip lock bag with the tip cut out instead of a pastery bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I thought that as i tasted these delightful meringues, i was back 20 years on the balcony of one of those authentic bakeries. These perfectly cooked meringues were the best i have evr eaten! thaks you RANDYVH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Easy to make and tasty. I added food coloring for Christmas. I also dipped one side in chocolate. People loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Superbe Mon Ami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Very easy to make. I only used 1 3/4 cups of sugar, added unsweetened cocoa while beating in the sugar, and I folded in about 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips before dropping onto the cookie sheets (i don't have a pastry bag :-) Too bad these take so long to bake because I COULD eat them every day :-) Thank you for this recipe Randy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States