Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I could not get the meringue to be thick enough even after 1/2 hour of beating it. I tried added more sugar but that didn't help either. There was no way I could have piped it so I just dropped teaspoons of it. I also folded in chocolate chips to 1/2 of it. I baked it for 2 hours and 45 minutes. They don't look like they should. They're flat like cookies however they taste great. I think I'll add some cream of tartar next time to help. It seems I had used another recipe to make these in the past and it called for cream of tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I suppose altering the recipe affects the authenticity, but if you're mainly looking for versatility, this recipe offers much of that too. Rather than the full amount of confectioner's sugar, I dumped a package of jello mix into the measuring cup and filled the remainder with confectioner's sugar. Results were great, offering endless flavor combinations. I may even try it with a pudding mix next to see if I get the same results for another easy fix. Will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Weimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Just want to tell, Meringue originates from Switzerland, from the word Meiringen. Meiringen is a town in the Berner Oberland. wunderfitz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe is very good except it is too sweet. So I only put one cup of sugar and I also add a little bt of cocoa powder to the mix! Delicious! THIS IS MADNESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
An easy and good recipe that makes very sweet meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Currently baking puddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
not sure I should have tried making these in the summer in the south. they got gummy on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The best meringues I have ever made. Light and crisp and just sweet enough. I baked them slightly (30 minutes) longer due to the summer humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My picky 10 year old asked me for meringues and I couldn't believe I got this one on the first shot! The second time I ran out of sugar and only used 2 cups BUT they were even better then the first! Next time I will use vanilla or peppermint flavor. Also, I like using sprinkles on top and meringues can make very nice cake decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I tried it & this recipe is so tasty your recipe os 100% five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States