Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were great! I didn't want to make quite that many, so I used 3 egg whites and 1 3/4 cups powdered sugar. I also added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp lemon juice. I think my oven runs a little cold, so I set it to 200 and baked them for 2 hours, then turned it off and left them in the oven to cool for another hour. They turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made these for my fiance who had never had meringues before, and they turned out great! You have to whip the egg whites and sugar for a long time, though, but it's worth it. Next time I'll try it with a touch of vanilla extract and nutmeg and see how that turns out. I didn't have a pastry bag, but I just cut an opening on a plastic sandwich bag and it worked great. These go great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I must say that I truly thought this was a flop... at first. I beat and beat and beat and never got the eggs as stiff as I thought they should be. My bowl looked full of a white slimy mess and I expected to have only "meringue puddles" as someone had posted in an earlier review. BUT!! I spooned it into a ziplock bag, snipped a corner, and piped them onto parchment and they surprisingly stood up as they should and came out perfectly! So don't give up too soon... and definitely PIPE the meringues, don't use a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!...:) Dey turned out of da perfect shape Finally!!!!!!... Da 1st couple of tyms i made dese da batter wasnot so thick so i jus made Dem biscuit Lyk! N Dey wer rly sweet! So da Next tym i halfed da sugar n Dey turned out gr8.n for ppl having problem With da batter bein runny! Jus beat da egg whites at medium speed for Atleast 7 to 10mins ul get perfect peaks! N da perfect shape! N da taste i Always so gud! Dey get over in Lyk a couple minutes by me! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have tried to make meringues many times and they always failed. I followed this recipe and they turned out perfect for the first time! I added 1 tsp of vanilla and increased the sugar to 2 cups. I also baked them on 185 and kept the oven closed. I left them in the oven for nearly an hour after the 3 hours baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I could not get the meringue to be thick enough even after 1/2 hour of beating it. I tried added more sugar but that didn't help either. There was no way I could have piped it so I just dropped teaspoons of it. I also folded in chocolate chips to 1/2 of it. I baked it for 2 hours and 45 minutes. They don't look like they should. They're flat like cookies however they taste great. I think I'll add some cream of tartar next time to help. It seems I had used another recipe to make these in the past and it called for cream of tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I suppose altering the recipe affects the authenticity, but if you're mainly looking for versatility, this recipe offers much of that too. Rather than the full amount of confectioner's sugar, I dumped a package of jello mix into the measuring cup and filled the remainder with confectioner's sugar. Results were great, offering endless flavor combinations. I may even try it with a pudding mix next to see if I get the same results for another easy fix. Will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Weimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Just want to tell, Meringue originates from Switzerland, from the word Meiringen. Meiringen is a town in the Berner Oberland. wunderfitz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe is very good except it is too sweet. So I only put one cup of sugar and I also add a little bt of cocoa powder to the mix! Delicious! THIS IS MADNESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
An easy and good recipe that makes very sweet meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States