Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe worked out well with the help of my stand mixer. I added a touch of mint oil and crushed peppermint candy on top. The only difference I experienced was the baking time. I live in the humid, wet Northwest and it took almost four hours for the meringues to dry completely in the oven. Using the spoon in the door helped keep the cookies from getting brown. They were beautiful and are great for a low carb diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe turned out beautifully, and helped me regain my faith in meringues! I added 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar because I've had bad meringue experiences in the past and feared the worst. But even on a rainy day, the ingredients and technique of this recipe turned out absolutely perfect - light, fluffy, barely any cracks. With a wooden spoon in the door, they still barely needed to bake for two hours before being cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
My mom use to buy these when I was a kid and I was happy to find out I could make them. I use white sugar in these from now on though, the first time I made these with powdered sugar they were a little too crunchy and sweet tasting. Oh and rainy days do actually effect these I have found out so make on a decent-ish day. If you don't have a copper bowl use a little over 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar after they start to foam IT MAKES A HUGE DIFFERENCE!! I add vanilla in mine. OH, and I don't like the idea of having a spoon hold open my oven (that's actually bad for it) so I turn the heat up a bit and cook them for an hour and they turn out great! For Halloween I made these orange and drizzle semi-sweet melted chocolate over them, they looked great and taste really good! I have made these a lot, they are so easy and good to make when you run out of ingredients but want something sweet. You can pop a lot of these babies onto one baking pan, I like that. I even halved the recipe and made loads. They go quick around here. I LOVE THESE! You don't feel bad about eating a bunch either, just tell yourself they are essentially air, but really good air. And HEY THESE ARE CHEEP TO MAKE! Go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul-Sauce
Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I had no issues at all..My egg whites whipped up in about 5 minutes, using an electric hand mixer. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups only and added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar while whipping the egg whites. Also, I took some advice from previous users by wiping my bowl and beaters with vinegar (allowing to fully dry) before whipping the egg whites. I cooked the cookies in a gas oven at 200F, for the whole 3 hrs; with the wooden spoon proped in the door. Even though I did not use parchment paper, my cookies did not stick to the pan, as I used the suggested butter and flour on the cookie sheet. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Light, crisp, and sweet. Perfect meringues. Mine got a little too hot and "bubbled out" a little, so I think I'll turn the temp down to 185, as suggested by another reviewer. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made for a birthday party, in three color - flavor combinations: green mint, yellow lemon, and white vanilla. I had 5 egg whites, so I adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Prepared the recipe then divided it and colored and flavored it. Piped the cookies with a star tip into 1.5" to 2" cookies on parchment. Made about 100 cookies. Green and yellow did not pipe as well, no doubt due to additional liquid from the flavoring. Not sure how to fix that but may add additional sugar to batches I intend to color / flavor. The few leftovers stored well in airtight container at room temperature for several weeks - until I remembered they were there. Then gone! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I tried this recipe two times and both did not work i followd the directions and did more reserch and found out not to use an electric beater but just a hand one. But the recipe itself is great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe. I have made these three times now and the family loves them. For variation, I have added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and to account for the 7000 ft in elvation for our home, I have added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. This recipe works every time. The last time I made these, I did reduce the amount of sugar to 2 cups and I think I like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I brought these to a French themed pot-luck and everyone thought I'd bought them!!! Even meringues haters like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I'm not really clear on the consistency of the finished product after beating and adding the sugar but mine came out like marshmellow cream. I was still able to pipe them onto a cookie sheet and they held their form well. I baked at 250 for 90 min and they came out perfect after letting them cool in the oven with door slightly open. But boy were they sweet! They had that strong powdered sugar taste even though I had folded 1 tsp coconut extract into the batter and dusted them with cocoa powder prior to baking. I really couldn't even taste the coconut flavor over the powdered sugar taste. Maybe I will try it with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States