Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Really sweet and delicious recipe. For the reviewers that said that theirs did not set up: You need to beat the eggs and sugar more. I beat mine for probably 10 minutes and they turned out beautiful. I did have to cook mine a little longer than the recipe stated. After 3 hours they were still very wet inside so I closed the oven door and kept cooking them for about 40 more minutes. It was very cool in my house today (about 50 degrees), so that may have had something to do with them not being done in 3 hours; since the oven door was cracked open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I've been trying to master the meringues for a decade. Back in Europe they were my favorite cookie, but we called it kisses. This recipe recreated the perfectly swirled peaks, my kids and I can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romana Osborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good and easy to make, it just takes time. I didn't have a pastry bag, so I used a ziplog bag and I cut a small piece of the corner off one side. Worked great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I had some meringues at my friends house and loved them at first bite. I was determined to make meringues so I kept looking and finally found this (I always use this site for recipes and searched the first time, didnt find it, then after 3 more days tried again and found it) I got discouraged and.....using my rage as help, finally got the egg whites and lots of powdered sugar(I think I used 3 cups) got the cookies to hit the soft peak stage. I piped them out in rosette formations. I put them on a cookie sheet, buttered and floured, and put them in the oven at 185 degrees, without the door open. I was not sure how to test they were done, because they were crispy after and hour and a half, so I ate one.....I ended up eating most of the batch by the time they were done! Very, very good.....I am just wondering three things. A.) Should I use oil-based extracts? B.) How do I test if they are done(Other than eating...they slid off even when they werent crispy) C.) How would I make these chocolate WHILE still being able to pipe them out? I would love to make Chocolate Chip meringues with regular base, and dip some of them in liquid ganache for my aunt's wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Sooo easy. Reminds me of my childhood, begging my mom to buy me these at the grocery store. Very sweet and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Amazingly easy! I have always loved meringue cookies but have been intimidated by them. I tried this recipe (exactly as it was posted!) and they turned out great. The only bad (?) thing was that I was pretty much the only one in my family that ate them - everyone else forgot they were (hiding) on the counter. Guess I should have put them on the table or buffet instead of in the corner of the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Increase sugar 1/4 cup...1 tsp. vanilla....egg whites must be room temperature.....egg whites must be beaten at least 15 min. May be made with an indention in the middle to be later filled with custard or jam......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulzers
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/4 cups according to my preference, and I did without the wooden spoon, but I baked it for 30 minutes less, at 100 degrees C. They turned out great, and they melt in your mouth so nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulzers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These are really awesome! Best cookies I've had in a long time. Its not too hard to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I don't know what happened but mine are cracked and look like there is root beer float foam all around them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States