Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Tried today for the first time on a humid slightly showery day in Seattle, and it is so simple I can't see why anyone would have a problem. Just beat the whites until stiff before you add the sugar, a little at a time, add a spot of vanilla extract along the way, and dollop them onto parchment-covered cookie sheet. I just dolloped them because I like them that way, and my husband who doesn't like the store-bought ones came back for more, so what can you say? I baked them long enough to get a little carmel-y effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I did try this recipe and it was really really good. I add 1 and 1/2 tsp of almond essence and use parchement paper. Bake at 175F closed dooor oven for 2 hours and it was good. you don't see any speck of brown. It was pure white and melt in your mouth. The sugar part. I only put 2 cups and it was perfect. 2 cups of Confectioner sugar (or icing sugar) is not the same amount as 2 cups granulated sugar. I will make it again and put some color in it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made a few changes, and these turned out perfect!! I did use boxed egg whites and used 2/3 cup to equal the 4 egg whites. Because I forgot to bring the egg whites to room temperature, it took much longer to get my meringue to stiff peaks--20 minutes or more. I just whipped them until the meringue stood straight up when I pulled the beater off and turned it over. I piped out 2" circle baskets/nests on parchment and baked them at 185, not using the wooden spoon trick, and shut off the oven at three hours and allowed the meringues to stay in the oven overnight. They are being filled with a yummy homemade Meyer Lemon Curd for a party. For people having trouble--meringues are a tricky business. If the weather is humid--forget it! If you get a tiny speck of yolk in your whites--forget it!! If you have residual grease on your bowl or beater--forget it!! Don't give up! These are SO worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpmglitter
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Mine are the pastel ones. I used 2 cups castor sugar and 1/4 cup confectioners sugar. Added a good splash of high quality vanilla extract and some gel colors. Put them in the oven for 1h5minutes at 185 with door closed. I can't remember if size 18 or 22 tip was better, but one was definitely better than the other for making the lines. Only issue is that they tasted way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is my first time making Meringues, and I felt that it is a great recipe for beginners! After they meringue was mixed I divided in half and folded in lime zest and green food coloring drops in one bowl, and in the other I used lemon zest and yellow food coloring. I then piped them onto parchment paper lined pans in very small bite-sized drops, about 1/2" in diameter. I baked them at 175 without the door cracked for about 1-1/2 hours. I probably could've baked them for about an hour and they would've turned out a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecopa, California, USA
Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made these just yesterday and they turned out perfect!! I added a touch of vanilla to the mixture and that really upped the yumminess!! Gorgeous consistency and sooo tasty!! This is a keeper. **And for those who live at altitude (I live at 5600 feet), this recipe works just fine. I never had to use cream of tartar or any other add ins to supplement the consistency of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe did not work for me at all. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have made meringues many times, each time trying out a different recipe. This was the first recipe that ended in failure. I did everything seemingly correctly. I had a chilled bowl and whisk, I added the sugar slowly and over time (which the recipe didn't even mention, by the way). I started at low whisking speeds and increased.... But no matter what I did, the texture just never was right. The meringue wouldn't reach stiff peaks, even after whipping for over 20 minutes. It got to the point where the texture was thick and impossible to work with, but still wouldn't form stiff peaks. I then popped the meringues into the oven. Not only did they ooze out of shape, but they ended up tasting far too sweet. In the future, I would definitely cut the sugar on this recipe, it probably accounts for much of my trouble. I also personally like to add vanilla extract. Either way, I don't recommend following this exactly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
OMG!!!!! I have always wanted to make these. I was a bit afraid but went for it. I am so glad that I did! I added a bit of red food coloring and a drop of vanilla then added a bit more sugar. Great!!! I dropped mine from a spoon and gave them all a curly Q. Thanks to everyone on this page for your hints! Merry Christmas! I will be making more tomorrow. They just melt in your mouth. Magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great recipe, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States