Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The best meringues I have ever made. Light and crisp and just sweet enough. I baked them slightly (30 minutes) longer due to the summer humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My picky 10 year old asked me for meringues and I couldn't believe I got this one on the first shot! The second time I ran out of sugar and only used 2 cups BUT they were even better then the first! Next time I will use vanilla or peppermint flavor. Also, I like using sprinkles on top and meringues can make very nice cake decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I tried it & this recipe is so tasty your recipe os 100% five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I love this recipe! I used meringue powder instead of egg whites. ( 2 tsp meringue powder + 2 tbsp water = 1 egg white ) I mixed it until it was foamy and added the powdered sugar. Then i added about a teaspoon of vanilla extract and almond extract and mixed it on high until it formed hard peaks. I used a frosting extruder to pipe them. I am baking them on a baking sheet with a silicon baking mat on top instead of greasing the pan. They aren't sticking at all and they are nice and white, not browned on the bottom even! they are in the oven right now but almost done, I took a few samples during mixing and baking and they are delicious! ( the good thing about using meringue powder instead of egg is you can sample it as you mix!!) Defiantly making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very easy to make - love them. I would recommend removing stove knobs (if on front of stove) before baking these, 200 degrees for 3 hours makes them very hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
The consistency worked out very well, but I found it tasted a lot like powdered sugar.. wouldn't make it again, needed a better taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Well, I didn't get 36 out of this but i also didn't use a piping bag so it's all good. Anyway, I signed up specifically to say that these are really good and really easy. I used my kitchen aide and the whipping time took about 15 minutes. My boyfriend who doesn't like sweets just hid some behind his back before telling me he's had about 5 since I started cooking (2 hours ago). They took me about 1.5 hours to cook. I'm going to make some more last minute for passover! Oh, Also, after everything was completely done, before spooning onto the cookie sheet, i added a tsp of pure vanilla (none of the imitation stuff, but liquid vanilla extract). Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me. I let them in the oven for just 20 minutes and they were ENTIRELY burned! I thought it was a bit odd to leave them for 3 hours, but I didn't expect them to get burned after 20 MINUTES! So the next batch I only let it bake for 10 minutes, so it didn't get burned, but some other weird thing happened... they puffed instantly, turned doughnut-like and kept growing until I got them out. Then they flattened almost immediately and there was pretty much nothing left of the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I LOVED the texture but next time I'll add flavoring. Mine tasted funny - like eating a spoonful of powdered sugar: sweet, but weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are the best! The confectioner's sugar is really the key, IMO. Remember, room temp egg whites whip up fluffy. My oven runs hot so I turned the temp to 175 degrees and let them cook for three hours, well, kind of, I kept sneaking one here and there just to test, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States