Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe. I have made these three times now and the family loves them. For variation, I have added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and to account for the 7000 ft in elvation for our home, I have added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. This recipe works every time. The last time I made these, I did reduce the amount of sugar to 2 cups and I think I like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I brought these to a French themed pot-luck and everyone thought I'd bought them!!! Even meringues haters like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I'm not really clear on the consistency of the finished product after beating and adding the sugar but mine came out like marshmellow cream. I was still able to pipe them onto a cookie sheet and they held their form well. I baked at 250 for 90 min and they came out perfect after letting them cool in the oven with door slightly open. But boy were they sweet! They had that strong powdered sugar taste even though I had folded 1 tsp coconut extract into the batter and dusted them with cocoa powder prior to baking. I really couldn't even taste the coconut flavor over the powdered sugar taste. Maybe I will try it with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Turned out great! However, make sure you check periodically. I waited to check them until they'd been in for 2 hours, and they were more 'done' than I like (I prefer a chewy center). I have an oven thermometer and I propped the door, so I'm pretty sure the temp was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I am not a meringue fan, but I had a lot of egg whites, so I tried out this recipe, and the meringues did turn out perfect. My only suggestion is not to add peppermint extract, because you end up feeling like you're eating dried toothpaste. I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I still don't like meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kKallberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe has worked wonderfully every time I've made it. It's a great favorite in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were great! I didn't want to make quite that many, so I used 3 egg whites and 1 3/4 cups powdered sugar. I also added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp lemon juice. I think my oven runs a little cold, so I set it to 200 and baked them for 2 hours, then turned it off and left them in the oven to cool for another hour. They turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made these for my fiance who had never had meringues before, and they turned out great! You have to whip the egg whites and sugar for a long time, though, but it's worth it. Next time I'll try it with a touch of vanilla extract and nutmeg and see how that turns out. I didn't have a pastry bag, but I just cut an opening on a plastic sandwich bag and it worked great. These go great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I must say that I truly thought this was a flop... at first. I beat and beat and beat and never got the eggs as stiff as I thought they should be. My bowl looked full of a white slimy mess and I expected to have only "meringue puddles" as someone had posted in an earlier review. BUT!! I spooned it into a ziplock bag, snipped a corner, and piped them onto parchment and they surprisingly stood up as they should and came out perfectly! So don't give up too soon... and definitely PIPE the meringues, don't use a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!...:) Dey turned out of da perfect shape Finally!!!!!!... Da 1st couple of tyms i made dese da batter wasnot so thick so i jus made Dem biscuit Lyk! N Dey wer rly sweet! So da Next tym i halfed da sugar n Dey turned out gr8.n for ppl having problem With da batter bein runny! Jus beat da egg whites at medium speed for Atleast 7 to 10mins ul get perfect peaks! N da perfect shape! N da taste i Always so gud! Dey get over in Lyk a couple minutes by me! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States