Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy recipe, I think the person who had a problem with it may have had moisture in the bowl or even had a small amount of egg yolk which will spoil the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
First time making them. The taste is just sugar, a lot of sugar. Next time I will flavor them with something. There are a lot of good suggestions in the comments. I baked mine @ 185 with the door closed for 3 hrs. I use a silicone baking mat instead of parchment paper and they came right off, no sticking. Can't wait to try them with flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
For a person who knows nothing about meringues, these came out great! At first I thought I added the sugar too early but after a while with the sugar whipping, I decides to pipe them anyway and they came out perfect. Ferm and the perfect texture! I will definitely make them again! Making them for valentines day, I hope everyone loves them! Great gifts! Thanks for the recipe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryberry:)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I know I'm in the minority with this low rating but I hated the taste. Perhaps it was the confectioners sugar because most all other meringue recipes calls for regular white sugar and they taste much better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I added 1/8 teaspoon vanilla and a little extra sugar. The first batch cracked and oozed a bubbly syrup. The next just cracked a little since I reduced the oven temp. to start 'um out. Mine were done in 2hr and 15min. I also found that parchment paper worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Second try with this recipe - turned out great this go around. The first try was a runny mess. I think I know what went wrong the first time and did the opposite this time - it worked! I cut the recipe in half, but added a tad more sugar. Very tasty and went down a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
great recipe,, easy cheap!! turned out perfect, only i kept them in the oven for 2 hours verse the three the suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This didn't work at all for me. maybe I didn't beat the whites long enough or too long, but once I placed it on the cookie sheet they lost their form and look like flats pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
the minimum temperature on my oven is 110C, so i just left them in for 2 hours and opened the oven door once in a while to bring the temperature down. they turned out great, except that the tops are slightly sticky, so perhaps i should have left them in a bit longer. simple and easy recipe to follow, and the results look nice and professional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
At first, I had a similar problem to one of the other reviewers, my mixture was goopy and fell the minute I tried to pipe it onto a tray. I got much better results when I made sure the eggs were a nice pillowy foam before adding sugar. Then, when the sugar was being added, to whip on a higher speed than the recipe recommends. I also found that using just a pinch of salt (the grains help to create more bubbles) and cream of tartar for its lecithin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States