Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kpmglitter
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Mine are the pastel ones. I used 2 cups castor sugar and 1/4 cup confectioners sugar. Added a good splash of high quality vanilla extract and some gel colors. Put them in the oven for 1h5minutes at 185 with door closed. I can't remember if size 18 or 22 tip was better, but one was definitely better than the other for making the lines. Only issue is that they tasted way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is my first time making Meringues, and I felt that it is a great recipe for beginners! After they meringue was mixed I divided in half and folded in lime zest and green food coloring drops in one bowl, and in the other I used lemon zest and yellow food coloring. I then piped them onto parchment paper lined pans in very small bite-sized drops, about 1/2" in diameter. I baked them at 175 without the door cracked for about 1-1/2 hours. I probably could've baked them for about an hour and they would've turned out a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecopa, California, USA
Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made these just yesterday and they turned out perfect!! I added a touch of vanilla to the mixture and that really upped the yumminess!! Gorgeous consistency and sooo tasty!! This is a keeper. **And for those who live at altitude (I live at 5600 feet), this recipe works just fine. I never had to use cream of tartar or any other add ins to supplement the consistency of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe did not work for me at all. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have made meringues many times, each time trying out a different recipe. This was the first recipe that ended in failure. I did everything seemingly correctly. I had a chilled bowl and whisk, I added the sugar slowly and over time (which the recipe didn't even mention, by the way). I started at low whisking speeds and increased.... But no matter what I did, the texture just never was right. The meringue wouldn't reach stiff peaks, even after whipping for over 20 minutes. It got to the point where the texture was thick and impossible to work with, but still wouldn't form stiff peaks. I then popped the meringues into the oven. Not only did they ooze out of shape, but they ended up tasting far too sweet. In the future, I would definitely cut the sugar on this recipe, it probably accounts for much of my trouble. I also personally like to add vanilla extract. Either way, I don't recommend following this exactly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
OMG!!!!! I have always wanted to make these. I was a bit afraid but went for it. I am so glad that I did! I added a bit of red food coloring and a drop of vanilla then added a bit more sugar. Great!!! I dropped mine from a spoon and gave them all a curly Q. Thanks to everyone on this page for your hints! Merry Christmas! I will be making more tomorrow. They just melt in your mouth. Magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great recipe, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These turned out perfect!! I followed the directions from others to use room temp egg whites. I beat them on high for 15 minutes and then added the sugar slowly. Life these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I also made sure to clean everything hot and soapy so not a speck of oil anywhere, I am an experienced meringue maker. Thought I would try a different recipe. This did not get past marshmallowy looking stage, piped it anyway, into little puddles of goo. Sticking with tried and true recipe from now on. Just sorry I used the last four eggs on it. Now I need to go get more eggs to make a recipe that will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Never had an issue with this recipe! It is a hard, cookie like meringue and they always turn out great. You can add food colouring and flavours to mix it up! For Xmas I like strips of red colour and peppermint flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States