Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Turned out great! However, make sure you check periodically. I waited to check them until they'd been in for 2 hours, and they were more 'done' than I like (I prefer a chewy center). I have an oven thermometer and I propped the door, so I'm pretty sure the temp was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I am not a meringue fan, but I had a lot of egg whites, so I tried out this recipe, and the meringues did turn out perfect. My only suggestion is not to add peppermint extract, because you end up feeling like you're eating dried toothpaste. I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I still don't like meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kKallberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe has worked wonderfully every time I've made it. It's a great favorite in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were great! I didn't want to make quite that many, so I used 3 egg whites and 1 3/4 cups powdered sugar. I also added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp lemon juice. I think my oven runs a little cold, so I set it to 200 and baked them for 2 hours, then turned it off and left them in the oven to cool for another hour. They turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made these for my fiance who had never had meringues before, and they turned out great! You have to whip the egg whites and sugar for a long time, though, but it's worth it. Next time I'll try it with a touch of vanilla extract and nutmeg and see how that turns out. I didn't have a pastry bag, but I just cut an opening on a plastic sandwich bag and it worked great. These go great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I must say that I truly thought this was a flop... at first. I beat and beat and beat and never got the eggs as stiff as I thought they should be. My bowl looked full of a white slimy mess and I expected to have only "meringue puddles" as someone had posted in an earlier review. BUT!! I spooned it into a ziplock bag, snipped a corner, and piped them onto parchment and they surprisingly stood up as they should and came out perfectly! So don't give up too soon... and definitely PIPE the meringues, don't use a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!...:) Dey turned out of da perfect shape Finally!!!!!!... Da 1st couple of tyms i made dese da batter wasnot so thick so i jus made Dem biscuit Lyk! N Dey wer rly sweet! So da Next tym i halfed da sugar n Dey turned out gr8.n for ppl having problem With da batter bein runny! Jus beat da egg whites at medium speed for Atleast 7 to 10mins ul get perfect peaks! N da perfect shape! N da taste i Always so gud! Dey get over in Lyk a couple minutes by me! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have tried to make meringues many times and they always failed. I followed this recipe and they turned out perfect for the first time! I added 1 tsp of vanilla and increased the sugar to 2 cups. I also baked them on 185 and kept the oven closed. I left them in the oven for nearly an hour after the 3 hours baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I could not get the meringue to be thick enough even after 1/2 hour of beating it. I tried added more sugar but that didn't help either. There was no way I could have piped it so I just dropped teaspoons of it. I also folded in chocolate chips to 1/2 of it. I baked it for 2 hours and 45 minutes. They don't look like they should. They're flat like cookies however they taste great. I think I'll add some cream of tartar next time to help. It seems I had used another recipe to make these in the past and it called for cream of tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I suppose altering the recipe affects the authenticity, but if you're mainly looking for versatility, this recipe offers much of that too. Rather than the full amount of confectioner's sugar, I dumped a package of jello mix into the measuring cup and filled the remainder with confectioner's sugar. Results were great, offering endless flavor combinations. I may even try it with a pudding mix next to see if I get the same results for another easy fix. Will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Weimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States